zeroing out hd?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rnikec, Jan 30, 2008.

  1. rnikec

    rnikec JINGMAO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. What does it do

    2. How do i do it


    Geeksquad checked my laptop and said everything is fine even the hd, but he says i should zero it out. I aint paying 120 bucks for them to do it, so OT help me out. I has a gateway t-1620 btw.

    The reason why im doing this is because my laptop is so fucking slow compared to when i bought it. 2 gigs of ram and is acting like a piece of shit.
     
  2. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. It writes zeros to the entire hard drive returning it to the state it was in when it was made.

    2. Find the manufacture of your hard drive, go to their site and download the diagnostics/tools.
    For seagate for example,

    http://www.seagate.com/www/en-us/support/downloads/discwizard/
    http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.j...73d5d010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD&locale=en-US


    Be aware that it will wipe EVERYTHING off of your hard drive. It is not recoverable. You will have to do a complete install of the OS, drivers and all programs.
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    What problems led you to take it to geeksquad?
     
  4. rnikec

    rnikec JINGMAO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    broseph i know... Well processes would just randomly shutdown like explorer and host process. I would get huge lag spikes coming from comp. the geeksquad fatass ran tests and everything is fine.. it has to be my HDD he said. He ran a test and the short test said it was fine but he said if he did a longer test it might be a problem.

    I have reformat disks for my laptop, do i just install that after zeroing out my hdd?
     
  5. Harry Caray

    Harry Caray Fine purveyor of x.264, h.264 & TS HD-Video !!! HD

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17,176
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    MyCrews:4x4,SoCal,Tesla,EV's
    Killdisk or boot&nuke....

    both are free and pretty much the best
     
  6. rnikec

    rnikec JINGMAO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    if i zero out my hd, then install the OS with reformat cds that the company gave me, will it work? Thats my main concern
     
  7. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is zeroing it out the same as a reformat?
     
  8. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio

    It depends on whether the reformat cd's include a full copy of windows.
    Because if they depend on a hidden partition that the manufacturer has installed
    on your hard drive, they won't work, since zeroing out your drive is going to delete everything.
     
  9. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
  10. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh god.
    I can't think of a more sure way to be screwed then taking a computer to Geeksquad.
     
  11. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right now they are running Windows defragmenter on your PC.
    They are going to charge you $100 for the privledge too.
     
  12. rnikec

    rnikec JINGMAO

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    814
    Likes Received:
    0
    i hvae a recover partition in my laptop.. will that get wiped out too? the reformat discs are a fiull recovery i believe.
     
  13. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you done a thorough defrag on your machine yet?

    Windows defrag really isn't that good. Norton is better. Perfectdisk is better yet.

    If I were given your machine the first thing I would do with it is run a good defrag on it like 3 times in a row.
    Might take all weekend to do, but it can be really helpful.

    If that didn't work then I would look into formating the rebuilding the hard drive.
     
  14. Kinks

    Kinks Sup. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    Messages:
    8,692
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    no. reformat leaves the data there just marks the space as unused. even a full format only does a read-only check of the sectors, so the data remains.
     
  15. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you have a recovery partition, then you should be trying to run that first.
     
  16. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    So how long does the data stay on there even if you reformat say 5 times?
     
  17. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Until it is overwritten.
    If you format 50 times in a row the data is still there.

    Even after overwriting there are techniques for recovering.

    There is some sort of government approved data destruction techniques, they call for something like 7 passes for the data to be completely destroyed.
     
  18. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    True.

    True, but, there is no way to recover any data that has been overwritten without taking the platters out of the drive and using special equipment and software to recover the data, a process that is very expensive. Unless you are involved in national security, high dollar company secrets or highly illegal activities, a simple zero or even better a dban wipe of your drive is more then sufficient to make your data irrecoverable.

    I believe it was a nine times wipe with random data but that has been modified to complete destruction of the platters in the highest level of security.
     
  19. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    rnikec,

    Before you go to the trouble of reinstalling and yes, I would be cautious about wiping out a recover partition with a zero fill, try this.

    My computer, right click on your drive, properties, disk cleanup, run it,
    do not compress files

    How much free space do you have left on your drive?

    Download CCleaner
    http://www.ccleaner.com/
    Run it, also run the tools and remove any programs you don't need or can easily reinstall, run the registery cleaner.

    Now run the windows defrag.
    I haven't seen any real benefit to using any other defrag tool but some people seem to like them.

    Download and install,
    http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
    http://www.safer-networking.org/en/index.html
    http://free.grisoft.com/

    Install, update and run all three.

    Boot into safe mode and run a full AVG scan.
     
  20. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would the data be completely unrecoverable if I put a really strong magnet next to the HD
     
  21. etech

    etech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Won't do anything.
     
  22. cleankutazn

    cleankutazn New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok..what if I open up the HD and actually touch the platters with the magnet :)
     
  23. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    the strongest magnets that i've had in my hands all came out of hard drive units. while i wouldn't recommend putting a magnet near a hard drive, i was amazed at how little magnets affected these systems. for example, i tried wiping out floppy disks with hard drive magnets. i was never able to do it.
     

Share This Page