GUN Yet another first handgun thread

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Manitoba_Homegrown, Dec 9, 2007.

1. Manitoba_Homegrown

Manitoba_Homegrown New Member

First, I've already read the sticky.

Second, I'm on canadian soil, so I had to ask the government if it was okay. They approved, so that takes care of the preliminaries.

I have plenty of experience with long guns and have been to the handgun range about a dozen times this year, so I'm not totally green.

I have seen a new M&P 9 for $580 cnd with two free mags included. Is this a good deal? the next best price on this firearm is 700 bucks. My main concern is price since this hobby is expensive.

Does this seem like a decent deal and a good way to start off with a ceneterfire pistol? I don't have any strong leanings towards any particular pistol, I just want something for range use only that will work reliably, eats cheap ammo, and not cost too much.

2. Paul Revere

Paul Revere OT Supporter

http://forums.offtopic.com/showthread.php?t=1582007

To address this common question, most people want advice on a first handgun. So here is WMD's most often given suggestions.

You say:
    "I want a pistol. Not too expensive, but reliable and accurate. I will be doing range practice and will have it for home defense. I have [never shot a gun before or only shot some rifles infrequently]."

We say:
    Good choices for a semi-automatic pistol are plenty for less than $600. There are some exceptions, but for good quality, you should budget at least $400-500 for the pistol itself. There is nothing wrong with buying used, but you should take a friend who knows guns or trust your gun dealer to know that you don't get a ragged on beater or a lemon.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The two most important things you should do when buying a handgun are: