Yay, RAM is cheap again!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by CompiledMonkey, Apr 6, 2003.

  1. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I just noticed Crucial has 256MB DDR for around $40. I snagged 2 of them for my laptop. :cool:
     
  2. D1G1T4L

    D1G1T4L Active Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2001
    Messages:
    16,489
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    newegg has it on sale for $36
     
  3. CompiledMonkey

    CompiledMonkey New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    :cool:

    Edit: I needed 200-pin SODIMM though.
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    hmmm i buy 512DDR at 79$ CND from our suppliers.

    and pay only one tax, cause i say the company bought it :big grin:.

    IBmybossgetsaudited :big grin:
     
  5. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :rofl: Hey, I'll be out there next week, you could hook me up ;)
     
  6. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    It's nice, ddr's been dropping, 1066 rdram's dropping and sd and 800 rd's both been going up.
     
  7. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    ill see if i can get some ordered in for me.

    lol, ive brough ~3k in parts lastmonth for friends, but ill try.

    ill know tuesday if i can get any shipped in.
     
  8. MP

    MP New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    34,377
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    werd, my kingston ddr 2100 512mb from googlgear is down to $60. Good shiznits.
     
  9. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Definately good prices. :bigthumb:
     
  10. dka

    dka Go Big or Go Home

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    6,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    newegg has good deals on kingston 512 pc2700 + free shipping
     
  11. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    LOL, I was just kidding actually, this computer would not benefit that much from more ram. Plus I don't think making deals with unknown people on a school trip is looked upon fondly by the school board ;)
     
  12. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    heheh no worries.

    im thinking of trading my pc2100 for pc2700, but really wont see any difference (cept benchmarks).

    or i'd go 1gb of ram, but yet again, no difference in performance (cept benchmarks again).
     
  13. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    well i called the supplyer (wanting to know current prices).
    sold out of 512 PC 2100/2700 $75/$80 cnd
    sold out of 256 PC 2100/2700 $40/$45 cnd

    they will have in by friday... lol.
     
  14. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    Yea, I think it's the PIII 500 that's making this machine slow, not the 128 megs of ram ;)
     

Share This Page