Yay I'm getting a computer Yay!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by The Boss, Sep 17, 2005.

  1. The Boss

    The Boss New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright well i'm in the market for a new computer, used mainly for gaming. I'm hoping to spend about $2000 Canadian or about $1600 for you Americans. I recently got a quote for a computer but after taxes it's about $200 too much. So if there are any suggestions as to where I could trim some costs I'd be very appreciative.

    AMD Athlon 64 3500+ [$232.07]
    Corsair Value 1GB (2x512MB) DDR400 [$107.57]
    ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe [$166.85]
    Maxtor 200GB SATA/150 [$96.56]
    Sony DW-Q28A [$45.73]
    Asus EN6600/TD/256 GeForce 6600 256MB DDR (2) [$269.35]
    Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS [$90.63]
    Cooler Master Cavalier 1 Black w/350W PS [$93.16]
    Benq FP91G+ [$363.37]
    Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard [$14.39]
    Intellimouse Explorer optical w/tilt wheel [$22.86]
    Logitech x-530 [$61.82]
    Microsoft Windows XP Home [$100.79]

    Subtotal $1665.15

    I am hoping to lower that total by about $100-200, any help would be awarded with my eternal gratitude. Also are the two video cards going to be good for gaming? Or should I look for a better single card instead? Thanks for the help.
     
  2. Mi[G]hTy

    Mi[G]hTy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Scrap the sli and get a 6800GT or an x800xl if you gonna be playing some hl2. Also, scrap the value ram because it is shitty.

    Maybe the MSI k8n neo4 platinum socket 939 would be a better mobo, than any of Asus extreme ax800xl, any 6800gt or x850xt would probably be good. And why are you buying windows and shit, don't you already have it? If you have a job I would suggest getting a nice stick of 512 than adding another as soon as you can afford it, OCZ pc3200 ddr el platinum revision 2 is some good shit I got my second stick 3 days ago and I am loving it.

    Also maybe a different case, because that PSU probably won't be too good if it is even efficient, I just got a kingwin mutant x mid tower, the silver one with side window comes with a decent 420W psu, doing good for me.

    EDIT: and btw the case i suggested is only 85$ canadian, the ram is 120$, the mobo is 160$ and the asus ax800xl (i got that one) is 340$ all canadian.
     
  3. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,079
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    im using valueselect ram :o

    2x 1gb pc3200 corsair.....

    i have no problems :dunno:
     
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    ValueRam is fine, especially for an AMD system.

    Stay with Asus motherboards for AMD setups.

    If you want to save some cash get the 128MB 6600 cards or don't buy Asus. That should save you your $60 American. I do seriously recommend buying the GT version of that card though.
     
  5. 01000101

    01000101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can knock down the proc and save $100. also check into geting a proc/mobo combo, sometimes its cheaper

    you should be able to find a hd for cheaper

    im not sure its worth $90 for a soundcard (didnt check your mobo for onboard tho)

    should be able to get a 19" LCD for cheaper. for sure a 17". i found your exact monitor for $70 less than what you quoted

    as for windows... dont you have a friend that you can be an "off-site backup" for? or a nice program that transfers files? if you must buy it, check with your school, uni's usually have discounts. at mine, im part of the msdn academic alliance. i get FREE copies of MOST of microsofts line of products. one legit key per software per semester. very nice indeed.
     
  6. Mi[G]hTy

    Mi[G]hTy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Value ram is shitty for OCing though, but if he isn't ocing than whynot..
     
  7. Ribbie

    Ribbie OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81,792
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    204
    I just ordered a system for 1900 shipped.

    AMD64 3000+ Venice
    2x512 PC4800 OCZ Platinum
    BFG 7800 GT OC
    Pioneer DVD-r/CD-rw combo drive
    Asus A8N SLI Deluxe
    Thermaltake Soprano w/ window(no psu)
    OCZ Powerstream 520W PSU
    120 Gig WD (not a sata)
    Zalman HS and Fan, 120mm

    But I did have to purchase an audigy sound card b/c I didn't like the onboard.

    I'd suggest ordering from pccanada.com if you don't live in Ontario. That way you don't have to pay any PST and they ship quick for cheap.

    I play CSS and BF2. I haven't tweaked anything really yet aside from the ram and cpu. I'm running a stable 2.3 ghz @ 34 deg, 40 under load.

    CSS FPS: 140/16 player map
    BF2: Unchecked, but damn smooth and sexy:cool:
     
  8. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Value RAM is fine for stock usage, as long as it's not got REALLY crappy timings (3-4-4-8 or similiar.)

    Processor and mobo are a great combo.

    I also say scrap the SLI, go with a 6800GT or better in nVidia, or an X800 series or better in ATi.

    Unless you have some nice speakers, don't worry about the expensive sounds card. Honestly buying a nice sound card and having mediocre speakers is a complete waste.

    Trash the included PSU, and buy a good quality one. Don't cheap out on a power supply, unless you can risk frying some hardware.
     
  9. The Boss

    The Boss New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    About that case, is it a tool free installation? Cause i'm not exactly skilled at putting together a computer, so I want it to be as easy as possible.

    Also thank you everyone, i'm am going to put most of your suggestions to work and see what I can save.

    Oh and also how is the Asus A8V-E SE Socket 939 VIA K8T890 for a motherboard, i'm gonna go with suggestions to ditch the SLi support.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2005
  10. Mi[G]hTy

    Mi[G]hTy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    The two sides are tool free, but you need a screw driver obviously for screwing mobo to standoffs and all of the other hardware. This website might be somewhat useful if have any troublke, make sure you READ the mobo manual. http://www.pcmech.com/byopc/ -skip all the crap on picking parts.
     
  11. The Boss

    The Boss New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's an update on the situation y'all (yes I just said y'all)

    Okay well I made a few changes, so here's the new specs:

    AMD Athlon 3500+ 2.2 Ghz [$232.07]
    Corsair Value Select 2x512MB [$107.57]
    Maxtor 200GBSATA [$96.56]
    Sony 16x DVD+- Dual Layer 4xDrive [$45.73]
    Sony 16x DVD-ROM (Added into the mix) [$22.86]
    Asus A8V-E SE (Changed from an SLi) [$91.49]
    Asus EN6600GT GeForce 6600GT (Changed from two 6600's) [$195.69]
    Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS (OEM) [$67.76]
    Cooler Master Cavaller 1 [$100.81]
    BenQ FP91G [$363.41]
    Logitech Z-5300 (Changed from x-530) [$160.14]
    Logitech Office Pro Black Keyboard [$12.69]
    Logitech USB Wheel Mouse Optical [$11.00]
    Windows XP Home taken out of package

    Subtotal [$1507.78]

    Well the price is about $150 cheaper and I think the system is even better than before, so thanks for the help all and if anyone still has some suggestions, fell free to throw em in, cause it's gonna be about another week till I order my computer.
     

Share This Page