XP wont start!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BillyGlide, Jun 29, 2005.

  1. BillyGlide

    BillyGlide New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please help me lol

    My PC suddenly rebooted itself and now I'm getting this message.....

    WINDOWS COULD NOT RESTART ITSELF BECAUSE THE FOLLOWING FILE IS MISSING OR CORRUPT

    \WINDOWS\SYSTEM\CONFIG\SYSTEM

    YOU CAN ATTEMPT TO REPAIR THIS FILE BY STARTING WINDOWS SETUP USING THE ORIGINAL SETUP CD ROM. SELECT R AT THE FIRST SCREEN TO START REPAIR

    The problem is I cant get the Windows CD to start ( screen goes back to error message)


    Athlon 1800
    using Windows xp Home Edition upgrade with service pack 2

    Any help would be great!!!!!
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2005
  2. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
  3. BillyGlide

    BillyGlide New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    You are going to have to try unless you want to take it a PC shop to fix it or know someone else who can personally help.

    If you weren't able to boot off of the Windows CD, go into your BIOS and make sure the system is set to boot off of a CD.
     
  5. BillyGlide

    BillyGlide New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to sound stupid but how would i go about locating that in my bios lol ty
     
  6. col_panic

    col_panic calm like a bomb Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    188,160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    winter haven, fl
    hit f1, f2, f10 or delete on boot to get into the bios (depends)

    look for startup options or boot sequence
     
  7. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    thats caused by a dead reg. most of the time or a possable bad HD
     
  8. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Like said above, hit F2 or delete while the computer first starts to get into the BIOS. When you find the boot sequence setting, it is usually A,C,SCSI. You need to change it to CDROM, C, A or whatever has CDROM first.
     
  9. BillyGlide

    BillyGlide New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    tx for your help guys!
     

Share This Page