XP, Vista, Linux all Installed?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by OniMinion, Nov 8, 2007.

?

What OS are you using?

Poll closed Dec 9, 2007.
  1. Mac OS

    3 vote(s)
    12.5%
  2. Win 9x, NT

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Win XP, Vista

    17 vote(s)
    70.8%
  4. Linux

    4 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. OniMinion

    OniMinion ...recalls when this forum was actually about cars OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana/Minnesota
    One more important question for the OT crew: If I have a version of Linux I want to use with my copies of XP and Vista, is there a way to install so that when the computer passes post I can choose whether I load into XP, Vista or Linux? I have heard of dual boot, but how can I have three OS's installed on one drive?

    Extra Credit Question: Has anyone discovered a way to install Mac OS on a PC since Intel started manufacturing their processors as well?
    :bowdown:
     
  2. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Um yea, you're dumb. You should not do this because you are obviously not capable of it.

    It is illegal to install OSX on a non-mac.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i figured the original poster wouldn't be able to handle it, but oh well

    btw, i wouldn't even bother with installing os x on non-mac hardware. you will get plenty of headaches with your nic, soundcard, video card etc not working correctly

    just buy a macbook or something
     
  5. Toyman321

    Toyman321 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ventura County CA
    as posted above, partition the HD 3 ways and your good, if you've got a few extra HD's laying around you can get a HD switch or you can make one (not too hard)

    Yes it is possible to install MAC OS on a PC, it's just not easy, it's not quite legal... but here ya go: http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
     
  6. [FKN-SIK]

    [FKN-SIK] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I have multiple operating systems on a test PC at home

    I have Server 2003, XP & Suse Linux Enterprise Server 10.2

    Install the Windows OS's normally and it will create boot menu by editing your c:\boot.ini file

    I then create an EXT3 and swap partition for linux and install it. Boot back into windows and use a clever tool called 'bootpart' which require one line of commands to edit the windows boot menu and add linux to it

    So basically once you turn on your computer it comes up with a boot menu with selections for all operating systems. If you choose linux it forwards to the grub boot loader and then loads linux :)
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    there really is no purpose to this. You're better off with multiple machines adv a KVM over a multi-boot.
     
  8. [FKN-SIK]

    [FKN-SIK] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    My server at the moment only has 2 operating systems on (Server 2003 and SUSE Linux Server)

    I have another client running XP on it with a KVM just to test new tools and security bits and pieces

    I have VMware running also
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    a SERVER does not dual-boot.
     
  10. [FKN-SIK]

    [FKN-SIK] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    It's for testing purposes Einstein. I run one client off it to play with shit
     
  11. Shorty

    Shorty New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    20,571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern CA
    for OSX, get the x86 tiger instal iso and burn it to a dvd, and as long as you have sse2 and 3 processor, and your chipset is supported then you can give it atry.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wont work. OSX looks for the TPM. You'd have to hack the install, and that's def illegal.
     

Share This Page