XP virtualization in windows 7. Do I want to do that?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Balbino, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. Balbino

    Balbino New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess the laptop I was looking at was not able to do it and Im not even sure if it is something I will want to do.
     
  2. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't see any reason to do it, unless you have some crusty old software that just refuses to run on anything newer than XP. If that's the case though, you should probably look into some new software.
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    i'll see how it compares to an xp/vmware setup
    i need one because our cisco vpn client doesn't work with Vista64
     
  4. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    Unless you've got REALLY old hardware and out-of-date IOS, you should be able to get a 64 bit version of the Cisco VPN client software.
     
  5. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    afaik,... they didn't release one
    they suggested to use AnyConnect VPN instead
    i just didn't bother
     
  6. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cisco told us the same thing. I think they end-of-lifed the PIX VPN we were using, so we went to AnyConnect and SSLVPN. Its got better throughput than the old VPN had.
     

Share This Page