XP SP3 Currently installing

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Bencorn, Dec 7, 2007.

  1. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    Wish me luck guys, I may or may not be around in the next few minutes.
     
  2. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Hehehe, good luck bro.
     
  3. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    There was a post in OT the other day about someone who did a fresh XP install w/ SP3 beta and said it was working pretty good...

    Like I said in the other post about SP3, it's still beta and you'll have to uninstall it to install the final version of SP3.

    My XP machine runs great... I'll wait until it officially comes out.
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I'm running it both at home and at work. At work no problems, but at home my only issue is trying to find the security setting that will let me install a self signed active x control that I use to RDP to the network at work. Other than that, it's solid.
     
  5. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    If it works out well, MS will rebrand it Vista Lite
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  7. Bencorn

    Bencorn New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ames, IA
    She works gentlemen. No problems thus far but not many changes that I've noticed either. It seems to pop up menus a little quicker but thats all I've noticed so far. I'll do some more tinkering with it and let you know if there is anything else I notice.
     
  8. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
  9. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed it on my work computer. Didn't notice much. It would be nice to know what they changed.
     
  10. eideteker

    eideteker Who jarked off in my frakkin' coffee? OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA.
    Did MS already change something so this hack wouldn't work, or did it not work since I'm running XP 64-bit? I don't have a problem waiting, just wanted to play around. My system has been too stable and reliable. :wavey:
     
  11. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    it's probably going to be only 32 bit for the first while
     

Share This Page