xp or vista for new builds? v.assumeyouhaveto

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by TigreTek, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. TigreTek

    TigreTek omega member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    26,927
    Likes Received:
    3
  2. lolerskates

    lolerskates New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    0
    xp

    vista is just pretty but is a resource hog from what i hear
     
  3. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    The key to this response is from what i hear
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    it's getting closer to the estimated street date for sp1 for vista which is supposed to fix a lot of the initial complaints about vista.

    On all new hardware, I would be inclined to go with vista, providing you get sufficient ram (2gb), a decent CPU (Core 2 Duo) and a decent video card (8600GT or better) if you plan on running areo.

    IMO, if you do go vista, don't get the 64bit version, you're a lot more limited by drivers and some programs that won't run properly under the 64bit version.

    Are you going to be reusing any old hardware? Video card, printer, scanner, other external devices? Do they have vista drivers you can get?
     
  5. Neuman

    Neuman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    im using a 7600gt and aero runs just fine

    edit: complete list http://www.jcxp.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=6957
     
  6. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    if you plan on using DirectX 10, you'll need Vista
     
  7. Cannondale

    Cannondale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    83,450
    Likes Received:
    447
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I was using it on a friend's computer the other day. 6000+ AMD processor, 3.0GB DDR2, Nvidia 6150 onboard. It ran fine, but took forever and a day to load up. I have to say I don't dislike Vista as much as I thought I would, but I would want 64bit ability so I could have 4 gigs or more of ram. Until they get the 64-bit ironed out, I won't be switching.
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    *IF* you go with vista, get a Core2Duo and a SHITLOAD of ram and a decent hardware-accelerated gpu. If you do that, it runs fine.
     
  9. euphoric

    euphoric Who else here has some pants? Moderator

    Joined:
    May 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    dawt.

    I have this and I love vista
     
  10. Lynn

    Lynn Yes my wife does and no you can't watch.

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    13,619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Friendswood, Texas
    I have Vista running my Media Server and it is running just fine. I am streaming Video / Audio over 10/100 CAT 5 with no problems.
     
  11. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    i have Vista on my computer. Runs just fine havent had any issues with it so far. Now my parents have it on their laptop and it runs like crap, just make sure you have a decently powerful comp for it
     
  12. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
    depends on the hardware and what the machine will be used for
     
  13. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Tell your friend to quit using his peer to peer programs.. vista doesn't take more than 30 seconds for me to start from power-on to fully loaded... but I am using a 10k RPM drive too.
     
  14. Marix

    Marix OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    28,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing wrong with XP. The support is great too.

    Despite what people say, Vista support still isn't great - especially for the 64 bit version. I have had real issues getting drivers to work etc, whereas I have no problems with XP.
     
  15. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    well.. if you are using a machine older than a year, there is a good chance the manufacturer isn't going to bother creating drivers for it.
     
  16. 0mega

    0mega Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    16,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I get XP pro for free, schools waiting for sp 1 then I can get it free from them.
     
  17. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    I buy Vista pre-installed and downgrade to XP Corp that way I have a license for it when we do upgrade.
     
  18. Rumbaar

    Rumbaar Inherent Omniscience OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,204
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Now - XP Pro
    Next year 1+ - Vista (if it's still around) or Crysis has come out :)
     
  19. Maffy29

    Maffy29 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,799
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    I ordered a HP tx1000z Tablet PC and it came preloaded with Vista Ultimate 64 bit. Works great for me. No driver issues, no software issues, nothing. It has yet to blue screen or even lock up. Sometimes it loads or shuts down a little slow, but I don't really care that much. I have Office 2007, Roxio 10 and a few other apps on it and they all run great. Going to put Photoshop on soon.

    Specs:
    AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-58 1.9GHz
    2GB DDR2
    GeForce Go 6150

    I know it won't do DX10, but it won't need to. Its going to be my school computer.
     
  20. Giroldo am I?

    Giroldo am I? 420 l sublime l c2d l BMW l botany l MA l night cr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    0
    im running vist on 2gb ram, intel core duo 6600 and it runs pretty fucking good, considering.
     

Share This Page