XP not connecting to internet. Halp!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by minkus962, Jan 14, 2008.

  1. minkus962

    minkus962 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, my desktop computer running XP will not connect to the internet. Normally I'm not that bad with networking and the such, but I can not figure this thing out.

    I have a D-Link DIR-615 router which is connected to the internet. My laptop running Vista is hardlined to the router and is connected to the internet and the network. I have my desktop hardlined as well, but it won't recognize that it is connected the the router.

    If I attempt to access the router through my desktop, it will not go to the routers page, and says that I have limited or no connectivity to the network.

    Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Start>Run
    Typer CMD and click OK
    type ipconfig /release
    type ipconfig /renew
     
  3. FusionZ06

    FusionZ06 /\__/\__/\__0>

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    86,918
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunshine State
    Make sure DHCP is enabled on the local machine.

    Make sure your router is set to DHCP/PPpoE/Static depending on your ISP.
     
  4. emerican

    emerican New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Treo 700wx: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 4.01; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320))

    does it connect when connected directly to the internet? not though the routrt?
     
  5. minkus962

    minkus962 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hate Crime: Tried that, didn't work. Gave me some message that I can't think of off the top of my head right now. I'll edit this when I figure out what the error was.

    Fusion: Checked that out, it was all set up for DHCP which worked previously and should still work. Looked good in that department

    No, it does not connect directly to the internet.

    Ugh, meaning its something with the computer itself, and not the router. :madfawk:

    I hate computers when they suck.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    uninstall/reinstall network card drivers?
     
  7. emerican

    emerican New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42,485
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    michigan
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Treo 700wx: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 4.01; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320))

    or look for a nee version
     

Share This Page