XP Hangs up on shutdown

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Chevy350, Sep 19, 2007.

  1. Chevy350

    Chevy350 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    AZ
    Im sure this has happened to others, i have done a search online but have not found anything to work on my comp. Its a brand new comp, but from all the searching i have done, it seems to be a windows issue. Im running XP SP2, anyone have any ideas or fixes from thier experience?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Does it do it on every shutdown? It's possible a program running or running in the background is hanging it up.

    You can read through here to help you troubleshoot.
    http://www.aumha.org/win5/a/shtdwnxp.php
    It covers most versions of Windows, so it may not be specific to XP.
     
  3. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,042
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i just installed server 2003 r2 and it hangs at shutdown
    however it's a server, so it never really needs to be shutdown

    thats a great link btw
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two things to try:

    1. Let it sit for an hour. Go eat dinner or something.
    2. Install the UPH Cleaner from Microsoft. It forcibly disconnects users from the machine when the machine is shutting down.
     
  5. Chevy350

    Chevy350 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    AZ
    Well after many a annoying hours trouble shooting it was as easy as removing a stick of ram. Appearantly windows xp will only recognize 3 GB's of ram, my system had 4. I bought a new comp for "tomorrow" thinking it would last never thinking that too much ram would be a problem. Go figure, live and learn.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,908
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    I doubt that's the issue. Maybe your problem is a bad slot.

    Having 4GB ram isn't the problem.
    I have an XP 32bit machine with 4 x 1GB. Windows recognizes 3.5GB only but it shutdowns without problems.

    I assume you have 4 memory slots. Note that if you use only 3 sticks, you will lose dual channel operation.
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2007
  7. Achance007

    Achance007 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2000
    Messages:
    16,163
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    New Castle, DE
    I was going to say it could of been something plugged into a usb slot. If I leave my digital camera plugged in sometimes it wont shut down unless I unplug it.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    23,042
    Likes Received:
    79
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    after a fresh install on a computer i just built, it was hanging on shutdown

    the thing that fixed it, was to allow windows updates to complete and then shutdown the pc
     
  9. Chevy350

    Chevy350 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    AZ
    yeah i had tried all of those things, windows updates, practically any idea i could find online that i read about. I thought it might be a bad stick of ram or the slot, but i tried different combos and it works just fine with 3 as soon as i fill the 4rth it wont shut down.
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page