Xp Format help

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RyanV, Jun 12, 2007.

  1. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I need a boot disk to format hard drive
     
  2. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    You looking to format the drive and reinstall the OS or wipe it clean so you can give/sell it?
     
  3. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Get dban if you want to wipe the hard drive. Get an XP CD if you want to format and reload Windows.
     
  4. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    it says that the computer has a newer version and wont let me do it
     
  5. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    What exactly do you have and what are you trying to accomplish?
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    any linux live cd will work.
     
  7. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I just bought a new HD and i cant get it to install windows

    it just boots through the dell screen than it says Invalid boot disk in a: or something along those lines
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Go into the BIOS and set it to boot from the CD before the hard drive. Boot from your Windows CD and go from there.
     
  9. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    did that

    didnt work

    keeps saying Invalid Boot Diskette
    Insert Boot Diskette In A:
     
  10. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Do you have a floppy drive?
     
  11. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  12. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Is there a disk in there?
     
  13. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Are you booting into the disc?

    Or trying to run it within windows?
     
  15. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    I have a blank HDD and it wont let me start xp install from the cd
     
  16. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So I can assume that you have no other hard drive hooked up at the same time that happens to have an os on it?

    Because if there is such a drive, you need to go into bios and change the boot order so that the new drive boots first.

    And depending on whether or not it's an IDE drive or an SATA drive, you may need to deal with jumpers as well.
     
  17. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Also, if there is another drive, it would be simpler to just disconnect it during the install.
     
  18. RyanV

    RyanV OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,263
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
    Its Ide and no the other one is not in
    its just a blank HDD that i just bought
     
  19. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,501
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Then maybe there's something wrong with your CD drive. Regardless of whether you have a hard drive or not or if there's anything on it, setting the CD before the hard disk in the boot order will boot you from the CD if the CD drive's working.
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    This pc was running, and you put the new drive on the same cable as the old drive, on the same connector?

    If so, and you have it set to boot to the cd, it's possible you got a bad hard drive...
     

Share This Page