Xbox to PC networking question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bearded, Oct 10, 2005.

  1. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why does my internet connection not work when my xbox is connected to my pc? Internet works fine until I enable my xbox connection. Xbox connection works fine when enabled. I use two nics with a crossover cable to the xbox.
     
  2. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,488
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    What IP addresses are you using on all of the NICs?
     
  3. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xbox is connected with a crossover cable to my PC. Settings for that nic are:
    IP: 192.168.0.1
    Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0

    Evox running with:
    IP: 192.168.0.3
    Subnetmask: 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: 0.0.0.0


    PC is connected to internet with another nic with dynamic addressing.
     
  4. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    so when you connect your xbox to your pc, does the internet not work on the pc, the xbox, or both?
     
  5. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Internet does not work on PC once the xbox connection to my computer is enabled. I do not have internet configured for my xbox, I don't need it.
     
  6. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    you have no default gateway thats the prob.

    the default gateway is your gateway to the internet.

    It should be your router.
     
  7. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,488
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Assuming you have a router, is it giving the other NIC a 192.168.0.x address? Windows might be getting confused about which NIC to look to for the Internet. Why not just plug everything into the router?
     
  8. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I do have a router but it is in the basement with my queerbait roommate so I can't plug my xbox into it.

    At this point it seems that I need a new motherboard because my hard drives, nics, dvd-rw, and usb ports all seem to be working intermittently. Is this a sign of a failing motherboard?
     
  9. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,923
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Listen to chips. IP conflicts have nothing to do with it because first off, they're getting different IP's, and most likely you're using DHCP. If it was an IP conflict, one of the conflicting devices would have access to the internet. The problem is that you don't have a default gateway. Change the default gateway address to the address of your router.
     
  10. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok i figured out that it was an ip conflict. Both of my nics had the same ip. Problem solved, thanks to mdaniel
     
  11. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use DHCP next time.
     
  12. bearded

    bearded New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    It was because of DHCP on the internet nic that I had a conflict. Fuck that, I use static from now on. That way I know what the hell is going on
     
  13. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ

Share This Page