Xbox Crew - playing on PC monitor

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by Mr J, Jan 14, 2010.

  1. Mr J

    Mr J New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    55,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I've got a Samsung Syncmaster T220 22" monitor. It has 2 DVI inputs, a VGA input and does not have any HDMI ports

    I want to connect my Xbox to it. Is it as simple as buying this cable?

    http://www.play.com/Games/Xbox360/4-/719745/Official-Xbox-360-VGA-HD-AV-Cable/Product.html

    How will sound work? I have an onboard sound card that has the green, blue and pink inputs. I connect my speakers or headphones to the green one usually. My monitor has no speakers. I do have a 5.1 soundcard of some description somewhere but haven't put it in this computer as i've not needed to yet

    Am I all set by just buying that cable or am I missing something blindingly obvious? Will I be able to run 1080p or what?
     
  2. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yes to all your questions
     
  3. Mr J

    Mr J New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    55,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    I've determined that I'll be able to get the picture up on my monitor with no problems but I'm a bit confused about sound

    Apparently I may need a seperate adapter for the red/white audio cables which converts them to a single 3.5mm jack, then plug that into "line in" on my soundcard. which colour is line-in?
     
  4. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Depends on your sound card but it has an icon of an arrow pointing into sound waves. Better option is to get a soundcard with optical in or new speakers with optical in :bowdown:
     
  5. Mr J

    Mr J New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    55,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Yeah might just buy a new soundcard. Not buying new speakers, it'd be a waste of money as i use headphones 75% of the time and even when I do use speakers I can never have it as loud as I want cos of my neighbours or people in the house bitching about the noise
     
  6. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    oh just use line in then
     
  7. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    DVI has pretty much the same specs as HDMI. An HDMI -> DVI adapter should be all you need.
     
  8. Mr J

    Mr J New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    55,061
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    England
    Yeah but how would I get sound with that kind of setup?
     
  9. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have had troubles getting sound from dvi
    its not as easy as people make it out to be. Im still not even sure if its possible so I went out and bought a soundcard with optical out .
     
  10. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    I thought DVI was capable of carrying an audio signal? If not, nevermind.
     
  11. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    in?
     
  12. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    DVI does not carry audio :rofl:
     
  13. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    I dont understand why you would want to go into your soundcard and then your speakers. Your sound might have a delay from the video that way. Why not hook your speakers directly up to the 360?
     
  14. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    I didnt even realize he was talking about 360 at first so ignore my whole post
     
  15. juvental604

    juvental604 I like to pee upside down OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,188
    Likes Received:
    3
    well searching google people say it does if you use dvi to hdmi but I dont know who to believe
     
  16. hollywood

    hollywood its the final countdown!

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    just get something like this [​IMG]
     
  17. hollywood

    hollywood its the final countdown!

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    dvi will not carry audio.
     
  18. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    line-in should just be pass-through to speakers anyway

    i used to run this setup with no audio delay
     
  19. hollywood

    hollywood its the final countdown!

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,574
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego
    use the same port has the headphones.
     
  20. Der SchattenJager

    Der SchattenJager Kupo, asshat.

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    23,803
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dayton, OH
    Erm...

     
  21. asdfbunk

    asdfbunk A Member OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Messages:
    29,812
    Likes Received:
    8
    my mind = blown :eek3:
     
  22. Plan B

    Plan B New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    35,757
    Likes Received:
    0
    $4 at radioshack
     
  23. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    the shack :nono:
     
  24. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales
    To connect to your LCD monitor you have a couple of options depending on the model of your 360 and the connections available to you on your monitor.

    Your LCD monitor will have either VGA, DVI, HDMI or a combination.

    Your 360 may or may not have HDMI.

    If you do not have a HDMI 360 then you will need to use a VGA cable such as this one:

    [​IMG]

    Most people recommened the Official VGA cable as some of the cheaper alternatives aren't shielded as well (you might get visual or audible interference)

    If your 360 has HDMI you can use the VGA cable OR you can use the HDMI port. You need to check your monitor to see which it has too.

    If your monitor has a DVI connection then you will need a cable like this one:



    [​IMG]

    This will convert the HDMI output from your 360 into a DVI connection. You do not need to buy an expensive 'High Quality Gold Premium' cable, a cheap one will do just fine.

    If your monitor has HDMI then it is as simple as using ANY HDMI cable.



    So thats the video sorted out, you'll be wanting some sound to go with it.

    HDMI carries sound but the chances are your PC monitor doesn't have built in speakers, the DVI conversion will also drop the sound.

    So to get the sound you have 2 options, the VGA cable posted above has the red and white phono connections which you can use just as you would the standard AV cable. Assuming you are wanting to connect up some PC speakers and not an amplifier (those phonos would connect right up to an amp) then you will most likely want another adapter.

    I made my own and it looks something like this:



    [​IMG]

    Most PC speakers can connect with a single 3.5mm stereo jack and this adapter should allow you to do that. Otherwise you can use the optical audio output which is on the same VGA cable, you would just need an optical lead from this cable to your speakers if they support this.

    If you didn't go the VGA route, and went for HDMI instead you will hit a problem if you didn't buy the Official HDMI Cable. The Official Cable comes with a small dongle which gives you the same audio outputs as you would find on the standard AV cable or the VGA cable. It looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Without it you have no audio outputs. There is an alternative but it's just not as pretty. You can use the standard AV cable and plug it in alongside the HDMI cable and take the audio from that BUT the casing is too fat to allow them to fit in at the same time without a little persuasion.

    You will need to take the outer casing away from the cable, it should then fit in without too much effort. Keep the casing and do it carefully just incase you need to return it under warranty.

    [​IMG]

    There is one downfall to the solution above, if you modify the cable instead of using the Official HDMI Dongle then it is likely that your 360 will reboot every time you change the source on your TV/Monitor. Most of the time that is not an issue though.



    And my post from earlier:

    HDMI to DVI
    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Premium-HDMI...98558&sr =8-1

    Audio Dongle
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.30585

    £2.54 + $5.40 delivered.

    You'll need to mod the audio dongle if you intend to switch sources with the 360 turned on http://forums.xbox-scene.com/index.php?showtopic=691179
     
  25. OFI

    OFI New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2006
    Messages:
    52,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wet Wales

Share This Page