Xbox 360 install + two boxes question

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by Chitown B, Jan 4, 2010.

  1. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    So I have an Elite I use for most of my gaming. I also have a Pro in another room I use sometimes. I install all my games, and they run great on the Elite. When I move them to the Pro they seem to always play off the disc, not the install. Are installs tied to a system? If so, that's bullshit.
     
  2. freshie

    freshie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    8,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Royersford, PA
    they shouldn't be, i believe there just tied to your gamertag, are you recovering your gamertag on the other 360?
     
  3. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    you can only install to one system. it will read off disc on every other system. the hard drive knows which system its installed to
     
  4. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    that's bullshit. Dragon Age runs so much slower on my second box.
     
  5. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    :rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl:
     
  6. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    :ugh:

    Not true, I have MW2 installed to both 360's and it plays off the HD on both.
     
  7. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    he asked about why it plays off disc when its installed to the elite, i said why. beyond that, you could probably install to another 360 still. i honestly dont know if that works since i have no use for that.
     
  8. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    The gamertag would know which system a game was copied to BUT! there shouldn't be a problem as to what console plays off the harddrive.

    Xboxlive.com
     
  9. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Except he didn't say it played off the disk on the elite, he says it plays off the disk on the Pro. And I'm assuming he installed it to both based on the thread (and that he's not asking why the 2nd xbox isn't playing off the 1st xbox's install, because that would be silly).
     
  10. tehsarb

    tehsarb Mr Bubbles

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    it sounds like he is swapping HDD's. in other words, he installed while on his Elite, then takes the Elite HDD and slaps it on his Pro and tries to play but it's a no go because it knows you are on a diff console. i've never tried this but i'm assuming this is what is going on here.
     
  11. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    well, it definitely plays off the disc on my second box with the same hard drive. i don't know why.
     
  12. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    uh, yeah I am. how is that silly? It's one hard drive i swap between both boxes. My Pro doesn't have a hard drive, I gave it away since I just needed the one. It's an image - it shouldn't matter which box it's on, right?
     
  13. stkorn97

    stkorn97 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    19,649
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. Charles, IL
    nope, i was right, hes using 1 drive to play on both. therefore it wont work.
     
  14. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Need to install it to both drives, not just one.
     
  15. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    even though I only have one hard drive? how do I install two copies of the same game on the same drive? I swap.
     
  16. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    You're swapping harddrives? :rofl::rofl::rofl: That's why. Just buy a bigger hd, stick it on the pro, install the games and watch the good times roll on by.
     
  17. tehsarb

    tehsarb Mr Bubbles

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    5,067
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's an anti-piracy thing, not bull shit.
     
  18. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    well that's stupid. you need the disc either way, and they made the drive removeable for a reason. bullshit.
     
  19. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    um, because I want to play with the same gamertag and saves, among other things, on both boxes.
     
  20. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    needing to have a disc in the system solves anti-piracy. You shouldn't have to tie your install to a specific box.
     
  21. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    buy a new hdd, download your gamertag to that harddrive, install game, profit.
     
  22. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    every time I want to switch rooms? you obviously have no idea how gamertags work. You can only have them on one system at a time. Also, game saves? yeah, not going to happen.
     
  23. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    That's what memory cards are for
     
  24. Chitown B

    Chitown B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    27,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    chicago, il
    yeah, i don't want to have to transfer all my saves of any game I might want to play back and forth on a memory card. And i use all 31 saves on my Dragon Age game. it does not work that way.

    There's no reason at all installs shouldn't work on any machine as long as you have the disc in the drive.
     
  25. ski

    ski New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    22,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    It does work that way... you can have an XBL profile on a memory card with all your saves and just plug it into each machine. I have my own profile on a memory card with every save I've ever had on it, and I can sign into XBL on any xbox with it.
     

Share This Page