xbobx and my pc network question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by le_rocks, Jan 4, 2008.

  1. le_rocks

    le_rocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Is there a way to connect an xbobx 360 to my computer through an ethernet cable so that it can connect to the wireless network? In essence making the computer a wireless hub for the xbox.
     
  2. red

    red New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    87,095
    Likes Received:
    0
    why not just buy a wireless adapter for your xbox?
     
  3. le_rocks

    le_rocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cause im trying to be a cheap-o :o
     
  4. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    While i have no idea how to do it... you would likely need 2 network cards in your pc. And i'm going to guess you don't have 2... so you'd need to buy something anyways.

    Just save up, and try researching non-MS wireless adapters... i hear there are a few others that work for cheaper than MS' $100 rapage.
     
  5. Harddrive

    Harddrive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norwich, CT
    asus had a mobo once that would do this exact thing for you, but i dont remember what mobo it was. there must be some documentation out there to support this type of network config.
     
  6. ososlow

    ososlow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    BC, Canada
  7. le_rocks

    le_rocks New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    13,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    ok, i kinda got it working. But for some reason, i keep gettin disconnected. I can get onto xbox live but only for a few minutes before i get a "server timed out" or "connection interrupted" any ideas?
     
  8. Zak8022

    Zak8022 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've heard that xbl has been having some problems lately, so it might not necessarily be a connection issue on your side. I don't use xbl really... so i don't know if the problems have been resolved yet. I'm sure someone else who uses it more frequently can let you know.
     

Share This Page