WTF is "Itmsg.exe"?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LtBk, Dec 13, 2004.

  1. LtBk

    LtBk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fucking Maryland!
    I find this on my process list in WTM. What is it? I search for it on my comp and find nothing. Same thing on the internet. Here is my HijackThis log BTW:

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.98.2
    Scan saved at 3:26:20 PM, on 12/13/2004
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccSetMgr.exe
    c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccEvtMgr.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXBCES.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\LEXPPS.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\navapsvc.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\ALCXMNTR.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\LTMSG.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgbhp.exe
    C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe
    C:\Program Files\Azureus\Azureus.exe
    C:\Program Files\Java\j2re1.4.2\bin\javaw.exe
    C:\unzipped\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://srch-us10.hpwis.com/
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://us10.hpwis.com/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Internet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: SpywareGuard Download Protection - {4A368E80-174F-4872-96B5-0B27DDD11DB2} - C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\dlprotect.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: NAV Helper - {BDF3E430-B101-42AD-A544-FADC6B084872} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: HP View - {B2847E28-5D7D-4DEB-8B67-05D28BCF79F5} - c:\Program Files\HP\Digital Imaging\bin\hpdtlk02.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: Norton AntiVirus - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - c:\Program Files\Norton AntiVirus\NavShExt.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [hpsysdrv] c:\windows\system\hpsysdrv.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [KBD] C:\HP\KBD\KBD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Recguard] C:\WINDOWS\SMINST\RECGUARD.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [VTTimer] VTTimer.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ccApp] "c:\Program Files\Common Files\Symantec Shared\ccApp.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [AlcxMonitor] ALCXMNTR.EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [PS2] C:\WINDOWS\system32\ps2.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Reminder] "C:\Windows\Creator\Remind_XP.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LTMSG] LTMSG.exe 7
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIEW] rundll32.exe nview.dll,nViewLoadHook
    O4 - Startup: SpywareGuard.lnk = C:\Program Files\SpywareGuard\sgmain.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MI1933~1\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O16 - DPF: {4C39376E-FA9D-4349-BACC-D305C1750EF3} (EPUImageControl Class) - http://tools.ebayimg.com/eps/wl/activex/EPUWALControl_v1-0-3-17.cab
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  3. LtBk

    LtBk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fucking Maryland!
    Is it necessary for my computer?
     
  4. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm not sure, but from searching Google (which you can also try) it says it's more than likely a WinModem driver/software.

    As I asked above, do you have a Winmodem???

    If you don't have any problems with your machine and you are not sure, then just leave it be.
     
  5. LtBk

    LtBk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    1,991
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fucking Maryland!
    Yes but i don't see a point for it.
     
  6. korrupshun

    korrupshun New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    YourMommasHouse
    he's saying not to mess with it cuz ifyou do your modem may stop functioning, if thats at all a bad thing then leave it be, even if it looks like its doing nothing beneficial, removing it could be bad
     
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Like I said before, run a Google search on it to find out... I have no idea, and don't care to look it up much since I do not have one.

    As from the link I specifically posted for you to start you in the right direction...

    "One of the "popular" WinModem series. WinModems use software rather than hardware - hence putting a load on the CPU. Needed if you have it for loading the drivers. See here for more WinModem information"

    And like I said before, if you don't have any computer problems, why even worry about it???
     

Share This Page