WTF, 1.24 Gig max for 12" G4?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Ghostrider4450, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Garageband eats up so much computer power that my 1.24 gigs of RAM isnt cutting it anymore. I know that it has alot to do with the 1.50GHZ processor. But damn is there no way to get at least 2 gigs in the 12 in G4?
     
  2. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    funny, the new ibook will support 1.5 gigs
     
  3. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Yeah but the new iBook wont have the same processor as the Powerbook. Will it?
     
  4. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i think its a 1.33 instead of the 1.5. the pb has a faster bus though :hs:
     
  5. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Shit still pisses me off. My songs are getting too complicated and I just got my Pbook. :rl:
     
  6. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    you have 1.24gb of ram and its still bogged down? hmmmm...
     
  7. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    why don't you try switching to logic express?
     
  8. Ghostrider4450

    Ghostrider4450 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    12,583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Out of my mind, brb never.
    Yeah its fucking annoying. But my music is software instrument laiden, as well as real insturment


    Is it better with memory and CPU usage? It should be for 300 bucks. What about Software Synths and Beats?
     
  9. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    logic express will blow garage band out of the water. VST's available and you can use samples as its just a sequencer. There will be a learning curve though, so i warn you.
     
  10. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Damn, I'm not even going to think about trying to do FCP on a 12" pb then :wtc:
     
  11. How can you have 1.24 gigs of RAM?
     
  12. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    256 meg + 1 gig
     
  13. LiekOMG

    LiekOMG New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jenna Jameson's School of the "Performing Arts"
    Chances are that you are running out of CPU power, not RAM.
     
  14. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    12" PB only has one so-dimm expansion slot, and a 256 chip onboard. The 12" ibook has 512 onboard, and a 1GB so-dimm.

    If you were to find a 2GB so-dimm, it's possible that it would work, but its not currently not offcially suported.
     

Share This Page