Would this set-up work?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by advocatusdiablo, Jan 11, 2008.

1. advocatusdiablo

advocatusdiablo New Member

Pros?

Cons?

All from newegg

I plan on doing some gaming, video editing and movies. Thanks, this is probably a lot better than the BB PC I mentioned about a few days ago. :o

2. skinjob

skinjob Active Member

For the same price or less as the CPU/Mobo, you could could get an Intel e6750 and a very good P35 motherboard for better performance.

Get a G92 based 8800GT or GTS. The G92 GTS will be about the same price as the older GTS you have spec'd. The GT is about a $100 cheaper. Both will outperform the older GTS.

3. advocatusdiablo

So the P35 would mean I would need DDR3 memory instead of DDR2?

sorry I am just learning about all of this :o

4. DAN513

DAN513 OT Supporter

most P35 boards use DDR2.

5. advocatusdiablo

6. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Skip the water cooler. Ever had a radiator spring a leak in your car? Not fun. Now surround it with expensive, non-waterproof electronics. Even less fun.

If you want a trick-looking case, get the Antec Nine Hundred. I put together a build with that case for a friend a few days ago, and I have to say I'm impressed by all the ventilation. It actually makes that "Smilodon" case look claustrophobic. It badly needs dust filters, but a roll of cheap air-conditioner filter foam and a pair of scissors will take care of that.

Get a Corsair power supply. It will work as well as any top-notch power supply, and you'll thank me for the recommendation when you see how good the modular power cables are. They actually made them work well, instead of just looking cool.

7. advocatusdiablo

I have, and It's off the list

I see what you mean about that case :eek3: and noted about the filter foam

CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 620W Power Supply - Retail added! thanks :)

Now I need to get the memory situation figured out.

and vista or XP

8. DAN513