GUN Would a rifle length handguard look stupid on a 14.5" barrel?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Market Garden, Apr 9, 2009.

?

Would it look stupid?

  1. Yes

    5 vote(s)
    29.4%
  2. No

    12 vote(s)
    70.6%
  1. I'm thinking about putting my rifle length JP handguard on my 14.5" middy upper. The flash suppressor brings the total length up to 16" but I'm wondering if it would look stupid. I have all the parts I need to do this.

    Here's what it looks like on a 16" barrel.
    [​IMG]

    Here's the gun it would go on. It has a MIAD grip now, and my Aimpoint should be here tomorrow.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. phoenixTX

    phoenixTX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas and OKC
    My dedicated .22 upper... 14.5 HBAR with a Phantom, DPMS free float tube

    I like it. The pictures don't do it justice... it's a very cool little rifle.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Painkiller

    Painkiller The Synarchy of Molten Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2001
    Messages:
    24,937
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Earf
    I'd leave it alone.
     
  4. Soybomb

    Soybomb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    I've always thought it looked fine, more hot barrel covered, more places to put a rail if you want and it only costs a couple ounces.
     
  5. You're talking about the JP handguard, right?
     
  6. Soybomb

    Soybomb New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    9,041
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Any rail/tube really, i haven't seen the drawback.
     
  7. Damnit people, come in here and vote.
     
  8. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!
    you'd have to put a new gas block on, correct?
     
  9. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!
    speaking of which, I think I am going to not cut my A2 front sight/gas block, and just get a low pro one. any suggestions?
     
  10. I was going to measure and see if I could actually cut down my FSB while it was on the gun, and then slide the barrel nut over it. I'd prefer to do that, so I don't have to deal with the taper pins.
     
  11. I have an adjustable JP low-profile block. It's nicely made, and it clamps around the barrel, which I like more than set screws.
     
  12. spankaveli

    spankaveli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    LA. State, not City.
    if youre going to do that, might as well go with a dissy setup and use a rifle gas tube as well
     
  13. Dissy?
     
  14. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!
    I just can't decide. I don't mind the pins, as if I take them out, they're not going back in. but on the other hand, if I cut it down, want to make sure it looks SOMEWHAT decent, even if it's going to be covered by the rail



    how do you get it to line up correctly. clamps as in it's got set-screws?

    EDIT: nvm. screws from the bottom

    now just have to figure out what OD my barrel is
     
  15. I think they look fine as long as you do a neat job when you cut them. I also like the idea of the taper pins, as they don't come loose.

    The JP one's screws go through and thread into the opposite side of the block. I haven't installed it on a rifle, so I can't give you specific advice about lining it up. Here's a pic of it.
    [​IMG]
     
  16. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!

    still uses the spots where the taper pins go then I guess.

    suppose it wouldn't hurt to just cut the A2 and see how it turns out, if I don't like it, then just put a new block on
     
  17. It doesn't use the slots from the taper pins. The screws are entirely below the barrel.
     
  18. spankaveli

    spankaveli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    LA. State, not City.
    dissipator AR is basically carbine length AR with rifle gas system.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. That's pretty interesting. Are there issues with the gas port being so close to the muzzle? I'm not going to do that to mine, as I really don't want to get a different barrel, I'm just curious.
     
  20. phoenixTX

    phoenixTX New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas and OKC
    Not possible... I tried (so that I wouldn't have to cut off my welded muzzle brake). It would require cutting so much metal that there would not be enough for the gas tube to still attach to the FSB.

    I ended up punching out the pins, cutting off the old muzzle brake, removing the FSB, removing the barrel nut and replacing it with the free float tube barrel nut, etc....

    Once I set about doing it, wasn't more than about 15-20 minutes.
     
  21. In that case, I probably won't do this then. I'm not looking to do all that. :hs:
     
  22. phrozenlikwid

    phrozenlikwid New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,709
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NKY
    Dissy setups are carbine length, just with a A2 post further out (to match the rifle length handguards). A rifle length gas likely wouldn't run on a 14.5" barrel. I've been told that you need 17" to make a rifle length gas system work, though I'm wanting to say it was Yar that seen a couple AR's with 16" tubes. Don't recall whether or not they ran though.


    Personally, I would go with a mid-length setup myself. Strictly speaking cosmetics; I think a rifle length quad rail might look cool, but the JP isn't nearly as wide, and I think it might look a little strange. Would probably have to see pics.

    Do you have a line on rifle length JP handguards somewhere in stock? I was looking around for one for a buddy, and couldn't find any anywhere. Even asked several people whom I thought might have one rat-holed away, but no go.
     
  23. spankaveli

    spankaveli OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16,466
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    LA. State, not City.
    no clue, i've never actually used one :o
     
  24. No, I just have the one I picked up for my Grendel.
     
  25. dpixel8

    dpixel8 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2001
    Messages:
    48,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WI Go Bucky!!!!!!!

    maybe a stupid question but...

    so how do you line up the gas tube?
     

Share This Page