Would a faster processor fix this?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by SubThermal, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    I have a P4 2.8 gig

    [​IMG]

    To be specific, I want it to work with media faster, but it always takes forever.

    -Importing Movies
    -starting media in a player

    well, yeah
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    what are you using? Because that graph does NOT look good for what you describe.
     
  3. SubThermal

    SubThermal Colder than Cold

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    18,280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    i was importing a vid into movie maker during that graph
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    yeah, that isn't good.
     
  5. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    how much ram do you have? i think a 2.8 can't be that bad really.. i had a 2.4 and importing isn't so bad but it's normal that cpu usage is up to 100% when importing
     
  6. frostedfrank

    frostedfrank OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    6,754
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    oh and what motherboard? i mean can be just the motherboard holding you back or something :(
     
  7. Penetration

    Penetration OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    19,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MMM my ding ding dong
    if you work with large files, a RAID setup can benefit in speed..
     

Share This Page