Would a cd made on a windows maching...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Aug 3, 2004.

  1. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    If I made a bootable cd on a windows machine would it work on a mac?
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    depends on what you mean by "work". :)
     
  3. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Say I have an image of my os and make a backup bootable cd. Would the mac boot off the bootable cd made on the windows machine?
     
  4. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    image of the mac os?

    i'm guessing you've "acquired" the upgrade, but don't have a cd burner on your mac, so you're wondering if you can burn an ISO to disc with your pc and use the installer on your mac?
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2004
  5. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok sherlock. Thanks for making me feel bad about it. :sadwavey:
     
  6. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :)

    just trying to figure out what you were trying to ask.

    not sure if it would work, but seems like it would if it's from an ISO image.
     
  7. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    We'll see.
     
  8. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    with some tweaking it should work. Heck if I could get LinuxPPC to boot on a Mac, I don't see why you shouldn't be able to do as much with a Mac disk image.
     
  9. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    The img is 3 gigs large. Is there anyway to split them up? Must I have a dvd-burner?
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yeah.

    you need to go buy a $150 DVD burner so you can burn a copy of your "acquired" $129 system upgrade. :)
     
  11. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas

    60$ upgrade 120$ OS.

    I'm seriously considering just buying the product. :rofl:

    Should I really dump 250$ into this ibook? It's a 500mhz w/ a 10gig HD. I just bought a 128 meg chip but to really get it running would require a 512 chip. Then ass panther and i've spent 250$.

    The laptop only cost 500$.

    600mhz ibook's w/ 512 ram ans 30 gig hd's cost 600$.

    Thinking of selling this thing on ebay for 400$ and just upgrading the entire package. :hs:
     
  12. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    if you're a student, you could get a brand new (with Panther) 12" ibook for $949.
     
  13. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    :Ownedd:
     
  14. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    ~teehee this thread took a funny turn :hs:
     
  15. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  16. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    Yes it did. :blue:
     
  17. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    did it work? :hsugh:
     
  18. Mycophiles

    Mycophiles OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Messages:
    15,133
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    No. It's too large for me to fit on a disk. I'll either have to buy a dvd burner or the retail version of panther.
     
  19. mrnoogie

    mrnoogie Guest

    dude if u can get a dvd burner, they r so handy to have.
     
  20. Yardsale

    Yardsale OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    88,007
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Francisco
    I was thinking, you have the the images on your ibook. Is there not a way you could load it much the same way you would on a PC through alcohol 120%? Mount to a faux drive?

    This way you wouldn't have to burn off a bunch of cds?
     

Share This Page