would 1 gig of 2100 RAM be better than 512 3200 RAM?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by PC Principle, Mar 8, 2005.

  1. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. skinjob

    skinjob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,337
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Aztlán
    Yes. If your machine is happy with 2100 ram, I don't think 3200 ram will make it any happier unless you're overclocking.
     
  3. Sonar_un

    Sonar_un Prowler Orange

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York, NY
    yes it would...

    I have 1 gig 2100 RAM... there is no replacement for quantity... the 3200 isn't going to give you that big of a boost, episcally if your processor isn't even running at a 400 FSB .
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    depends on what you're doing... sometimes quantity beats speed (when you use it) and sometimes speed beats quantity (when you don't need as much)
     
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    depends on what cpu it is also.
     
  6. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depends on what use bud, for the average user that surfs the net, uses WORD and all the "simple" tasks then speed is > quantity - and 512mb for what i've mentionned is plenty RAM.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2005
  7. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies.


    It will be used with an AMD 64 3000+ 939 socket. Mostly for games.

    I am just wondering because I already have a stick of 2100 DDR RAM in my computer and I am going to upgrade the mobo, video card, and processor and wanted to only buy 1 more stick of RAM.

    Should I buy another 2100 speed stick or can I just get a 3200 speed stick?
     
  8. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    You need 3200 for that CPU, it will not run with PC2100. Far too slow.
     
  9. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    aye, you will not acheive "3000" speeds on 266 memory... you need 400 (PC-3200)
     
  10. Nick6

    Nick6 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston Tx. US of A
    How about just getting 1 gig of 3200? :bigok:
     
  11. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    that would be optimal but i'm sure he is on a budget, he can always get the 512 now and upgrade another 512 in the coming months, that's his best bet.
     
  12. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I found dual 512 sticks of Coursair 3200 on newegg for $109. I might sell my old stick and buy this. :bigthumb:

    This is the type of RAM

    Would this work well with the AMD 64 3000+?
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2005
  13. Derrict

    Derrict No, I am not Amish OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Amish Country, PA
    Yes. I would save and get 1 gig of ram, though.
     
  14. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I am going to get a gig if its only 100$
     
  15. Crystal Ban

    Crystal Ban Guest

    Yes and no :bigthumb: , for speed the pc3200 would be better, for amount of memory the 1 gig of 2100 is better
     
  16. I would go with the gig
     
  17. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can

    do not get the gig. DO NOT. your computer will be running 33% slower.
     
  18. WannaZO6

    WannaZO6 There are 10 types of people in the world, the one

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    for that price get the 3200, its worth it
    i may get myself some while im at it
     
  19. PC Principle

    PC Principle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    Messages:
    64,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK thanks people I am going to get the gig of 3200. :)
     

Share This Page