World of Warcraft on a 700m?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by BROKE, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. BROKE

    BROKE Mr. Selfdestruct

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Tx
    i know this has an integrated intel vid card. anyone had any experiance running WoW on one? im interested in picking up the game...but not if it wont work on my system.
     
  2. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,067
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    -> . <-
    my friend runs it on his insperion 6000. i'm not sure of the specs of either of those notebooks but at least you can use the 6000 as a frame of reference.
     
  3. BROKE

    BROKE Mr. Selfdestruct

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Tx
    i think the 6000 uses an ati vid card, and mine uses an integrated card.
     
  4. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    http://www.worldofwarcraft.com/info/faq/technology.html

    indows® System 98/ME/2000/XP OS:
    • 800 MHz or higher CPU
    • 256 MB or more of RAM
    • 32 MB 3D graphics card with hardware transform and lighting, such as GeForce 2 or better
    • 5 GB or more of available hard drive space
    • DirectX® 9.0c or above
    • A 56k or higher modem with an Internet connection
    The 700m has 64mb of Video RAM on the inegrated chip, you will be able to run WoW.

    edit: 700m specs: http://reviews.cnet.com/Dell_Inspiron_700m/4507-3121_7-30975241.html
     
  5. BROKE

    BROKE Mr. Selfdestruct

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Tx
    it also says the intel extreme chipset isnt supported
     
  6. steve3p0

    steve3p0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    it does not say that.

    http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww0830p

    it says Extreme Graphics 2 (865G / 865GV / 855GM) Series are supported. 855GM is what is in the 700m
     
  7. CodyPGA

    CodyPGA Just Point Me To The First Tee And Tell Me What Th

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,433
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Beach, CA
    Blizzard should release a tech demo for this reason.

    Anyway, since its just the integrated Intel video, it would prob install and run, just not extremely smooth and probably no higher than 800x600
     
  8. BROKE

    BROKE Mr. Selfdestruct

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    48,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,Tx
    I bought and installed it last nihgt, runs great, no slowdown or laggyness. i wish Dell would actually post what chipsets they use on the websites in tech specs. also just for reference my laptop is like 6 months old.l
     

Share This Page