Wont allow me into Control Panel.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by bonylad, Dec 30, 2004.

  1. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC
    I was making some tweaks using services.msc based on a web site I found. For some reason I tried to go into Control Panel and do something and it wont do shit.

    This is a new Dell 3000 P4 3.0 GHZ, with XP Pro SP2. Any suggestions? Have I check a service off that control panel needs?
     
  2. cosmocrat

    cosmocrat New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    seems like a simple question - but have you tried restarting?..
     
  3. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
    Are you an admin?
     
  4. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC
    Leme try, and yes I am.
     
  5. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC
    Nope no good..........rest of comp works fine!
     
  6. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC
    Still no luck. I mean I have all the commands I need to do anything I want. BUt this is bugging me!
     
  7. red89gt

    red89gt OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ladner BC Canada
    can you not reverse the tweaks you did?
     
  8. Grayham

    Grayham New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ithiaca is gorges
    System restore? :dunno:
     
  9. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC

    done that.........
     
  10. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC


    was disabled, when enabled it, the only point it allowed was the current one.
     
  11. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    What services did you change? What exactly happens when you try to launch the control panel?
     
  12. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    start - run - gpedit.msc - user configuration - control panel

    check there
     
  13. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC

    One of two things. It either freezes when opening, and I have to ctrl+alt+del it to get to the desktop. Or it opens, and kicks me out, closing the window as it does.
     
  14. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC

    Does nothing, says there is no program by than name.
     
  15. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    What the hell kind of operation are you running down there?
     
  16. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC

    :dunno: I type it into the run menu and hit enter. It gives me some shit about.....cannot find......make sure you typed correctly.....etc.
     
  17. Yep

    Yep Knick knack paddy whack, give the old dog a bone

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Messages:
    4,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Jersey
  18. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    XP is c:\windows\system32.
     
  19. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    From these symptoms I don't think it's a security issue though.
     
  20. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    No, it sounds like something in the OS is completely hosed. Without knowing the changes made, there is no real way to tell what happened.
     
  21. Dominion

    Dominion I believe you have my stapler.

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,043
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Try a reinstall of the OS over your current, It will hose most of your programs...but it should fix it ;)
     
  22. bonylad

    bonylad You are all so very predictable.

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newport, NC
    Tried a reinstall over my existing installation. Didnt work. Still gives me those errors.

    :(

    :wtf:
     

Share This Page