GUN WMD: Guide me to the "right" 1911.

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by amill94, Jan 3, 2008.

1. amill94

amill94 OT Supporter

Alright guys. I'm new to 1911's and apparently made a mistake when I bought my first one last year. I bought a Kimber Grand Raptor II. I haven't had a single problem with it, but the swartz safety doesn't make it a true functioning 1911 according to purists. I like the gun, but am craving something new and more of a "pure" 1911. I've also been hearing nothing but negative things regarding Kimber, so was thinking about ditching it. When I bought it I knew nothing about 1911's and went on what people at the local range recommended. Anyway, on with the questions.

I want to sell it to finance another 1911. However, I have no idea what these are going for used. I've seen some new ones on gunbroker but have no idea what to price this at. The gun will be sold with what it comes with when new...all my extra mags I'm going to keep. The gun is in flawless shape and has easily less than 1000 rounds through it.

What 1911 would you guys recommend me looking into. I don't want to spend alot of money...but what can I get for around $1500 or so. There was a Springfield 1911 I saw a guy post on here with a 1913 rail that was really nice...but what brands models should I look for?

Thanks

Here is a pic to somewhat show the condition of the gun.[​IMG]

2. AB13

AB13 New Member

Do it for yourself, don't do it for other people will always be my advise over all.

I hate just giving someone a simple brand and having them run to it, rather how about a few of us chime in on "what to look for" then you can decide on your own on what meets those critieria's "for you". Because you can find melons on just about any brand, you have to be very diligent on chosing the rite one. Anything but Glocks, and I'm looking that thing over with a fine comb.

Let me wrap up a few things and check back in in just a sec.

Last edited: Jan 3, 2008
  3. amill94