Wiring an amp? v. FIRST TIME EVER!!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by about:blank, Oct 27, 2005.

  1. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    Let me just clarify... Before I thought amps were needed only to power subs, I didn't realize that speakers can sound much better with an addition of a 4ch amp. So I ordered a cheap Pioneer GM-4000F, 4ch, 300watt amp. Plenty for me right now.

    I'm doing minor upgrades to my DD to improve my listening experience (I have Alive in Chains MTV unplugged that could sound a lot better). I'll need to replace my rear speaker wires (left, rear 6x9 has issues with volume, recently replaced) and wire an amp. I've installed speakers before, HU's and I know how to solder pretty well.

    Currently I have:

    2x 6.5" 3way coax in the front, Kenwood
    2x 6x9 2 way JBL in the back
    Panasonic something or other HU

    I need some guidance though...

    -what do I need to know before I get started that will cause me to stop mid-way and run to a stereo shop?
    -where is the best place to put the amp?
    -how do the wires run (hu to amp to speakers or...)?


    I don't have a grasp on the basics like ohm and etc, but will read up for the next few days.



    we all have to start somewhere, right? :hs:
     
  2. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
  3. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    buy an amp install kit. Will cost you about $40 and come with everything you need.
     
  4. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN
    They're easy to install, I installed my first system, and I had no problems. The hardest part is figuring out where you want to run all the wires.
    Just make sure you install a fuse close the batter on the power cable.
     
  5. Arc

    Arc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UF/SRQ
    Within a foot jsut to specify/
     
  6. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    eh, rule of thumb is 18", but it's better to be closer. the biggest pain is running the power wire thru the firewall. the easiest thing to do is to find a large grommet and poke the wire thru that. if you can't find one and you have a Japanese car, look up under the driver's side dash and find where the clutch would mount on an auto trans car (it will usually be a diamond shaped cutout in the material on the wall). Pull this piece out and drill a hole thru there, then run to battery (make sure you put the grommet or bushing supplied in amp kit in the hole). everything else is pretty straight forward.
     
  7. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    what kind of car do you have? Just so we can help give you a good idea where a usable grommet will be.
     
  8. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    it's a Ford Probe, beater so I have no problems drilling holes.

    I figure I'll place the amp right behind the passenger seat, mounted right below the back seat cushion... another possiblity is under the seat since I plan to remove it anyway. The amp should be here tomorrow, I can't wait :x:
     
  9. ScrapinSi

    ScrapinSi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    put it under the passenger seat... underneath the back seat is probably your gas tank... and you dont want to be drilling into your gas tank.

    In a probe, on the passenger side there will probably be a grommet you can snake the power wire through... just don't run the wire across the top of the engine, near the spark plug wires. that will cause engine noise.
     
  10. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    thanks for the feedback, I'll let you guys know how it goes...
     
  11. about:blank

    about:blank Whether you think that you can or that you can't,

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2001
    Messages:
    28,240
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Portland/Charlotte
    forgot to update this...

    The amp I got was a shitty (supposedly) GM-4000F 4x35w rms. 35 seems low but it's a HUGE improvement. I'm still in awe. I feel bad that I didn't go with components up front due to the sound stage being in the back seat, nicely pointed tweeters could have fixed that :hs:

    I ordered a small 10" Infinity sub/amp combo, so that should cover the lows nicely.
     
  12. StealthMode

    StealthMode Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    MN

Share This Page