wireless router that works with PC and MAC

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dfunk, Sep 15, 2006.

  1. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could you please tell me of a wireless router that works for PC and MAC? $50-$70 price range. Also, I need to get a wireless card for my PC Desktop. Can you recommend a good card that's in $50-$70 price range also? Thanks.
     
  2. MUDFISH

    MUDFISH New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12,898
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Syracuse
    I have a cheapy Netgear Router, works for both my old Dell laptop, and Macbook...

    I have teh same problems with both though, since the router is across the house, the signal stregnth is pretty weak...


    EDIT: it's an MR814
     
  3. iridium130

    iridium130 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,034
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim Hills, CA --> Denver, CO
    My Linksys router works with my PC and Mac.

    If you use WEP encryption, you might need to put '$' in front of your WEP code
     
  4. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i've got a netgear that works fine. only problems you'll run into with a mac is if you use WEP instead of WPA. you have to put a $ or some shit infront of the WEP key.
     
  5. omgwtfbbqryan

    omgwtfbbqryan OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    14,590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    .
     
  6. alverino03

    alverino03 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    4,898
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    bay area
    I didn't have to put a $ when I made my network. :dunno:
     
  7. vwpilot

    vwpilot New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just got a mac and am running both the Mac and my other PCs off a Belkin wireless router. A router should not make any difference at all when it goes to connect a PC or Mac, the networking protocol is the same with both systems.
     
  8. agent0068

    agent0068 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Messages:
    39,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    routers tend to be platform neutral

    i like linksys, but i'm guessing you're not the type who would want to upgrade the firmware on the router for extra features, so my reasons for liking it might not mean much for you
     
  9. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i got a cheap dlink router ($20)
    and i don't need to put $ in front of my wep key...
     
  10. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,614
    Likes Received:
    136
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
    Macs use the same wireless protocols as PCs. Airport = 802.11b, Airport Extreme = 802.11g. I expect Apple to have draft 802.11n support in the not so distant future.
     
  11. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,736
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    exactly, thats why they developed the 802.11 standard
     
  12. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linksys WRT54G is one of the top rated routers around...the only one that hasn't given me any problems!
     
  13. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, what can you recommend for a wireless card? My Mac will be wired to the wireless router, but my Desktop PC will be in another room, I need to get a wireless card for it. What's something affordable but with good quality? Thanks
     
  14. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. Bolicious

    Bolicious Handleobraese

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2000
    Messages:
    43,793
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    I'm still using my Microsoft router for my Macs. :mamoru:
     
  16. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought:

    Linksys Wireless - G Router (802.11b, 802.11g)

    and I bought:

    Belkin Wireless G Desktop Card (802.11b, 802.11g)

    I never set-up a home network before, how should I begin my process? I want to make sure that my network is secure. The box of the Linksys Router says it has "One Touch Setup Button" and its Secure and Easy. Could you please tell me what I need to do in order for all this to work properly?

    I'm going to have a Mac machine in one room which will be wired to the Router and a PC Desktop in another room which will be catching the signal by the means of the wireless card I listed.

    Please help me.
     
  17. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    all of them do
     
  18. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^ Yes, I already made my purchase keleko, now I need some insight towards how to set this up so its secure. Read my post above yours. Thank you.
     
  19. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    nahhhh

    don't feel like it
    rather come in, read 1st post and post a quick reply without reading anything at all









    oh wait, i did that already :mamoru:
     
  20. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    do NOT use the "software" that comes with the router, you simply don't need it

    go to the router's web config page, http://192.168.1.1 , enter user/pass (admin/ ) and config it from there

    you'll need the driver for the wireless card though of course
     
  21. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kaleko, will " http://192.168.1.1" be the addess I need to use on mine also? Is that the local host? Or do I need to figure out what mine is?
     
  22. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    2x Airport Extremes here, works fine pc/mac.
     
  23. tenplanescrashing

    tenplanescrashing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    9,287
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linksys routers can be accessed by typing in 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.1.100. then skip the username and type admin in the password field.

    1. Change password
    2. Setup security protocol (you pick...honestly, I don't use it...:dunno:)
    3. Save changes
    4. Profit.
     
  24. newsroom_can

    newsroom_can Canada eh?

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    17,218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    Microsoft made a router? :eek3:
     
  25. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thankk you guys for helping me out, I appreciate it.
     

Share This Page