Wireless Problems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LiQuiD_FuSioN, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. LiQuiD_FuSioN

    LiQuiD_FuSioN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having some wireless problems, first off, is this the correct forum for this question?
     
  2. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, give it a shot, we'll try to help you as best we can.
     
  3. LiQuiD_FuSioN

    LiQuiD_FuSioN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Allright let me spill it all out :)

    I have a toshiba satellite A15-S129 laptop and I can't get my Linksys wireless.g card to work. It connects to the wireless router but won't allow interconnectivity! if i plug it into the router everything works well. My linksys server says I am connected to the access point but the internet cannot be found.

    I am pretty sure I set the thing up ok. All the hardwired ports conect to the net ok.
     
  4. Gaylord Focker

    Gaylord Focker 8=oOOo=D ~ ~ ~

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    6,053
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    -> . <-
    do you have any encryption or other security features turned on?
     
  5. LiQuiD_FuSioN

    LiQuiD_FuSioN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    let me get back to you on that :)
     
  6. LiQuiD_FuSioN

    LiQuiD_FuSioN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes 128 wep
     
  7. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    You need to add the passphrase or hex value when you connect to the AP. If you forgot what they are log on to the router through a cable connection and copy it down.

    Also IMO 128 wep doesn't offer any big improvement over 64 bit, but it does slow down your connection more.
     
  8. SEPHROTH64

    SEPHROTH64 Guest

    if ur just worried about people not getting on ur wireless rather then security you could just apply mac address filtering
     
  9. dijital

    dijital New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,896
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nor Cal
    do you have an open network or password protected?
     
  10. LiQuiD_FuSioN

    LiQuiD_FuSioN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info, I am sick of messing around with something that should be easy. I am taking the access point and wireless card back to the store.
     
  11. Shaggy007

    Shaggy007 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In the Springtime of my youth
    Setting it up is easy, setting it up securely is a different story.
     
  12. SEPHROTH64

    SEPHROTH64 Guest

    yeah
     

Share This Page