Wireless networking question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Falconer, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I just moved in with a friend. He has SBC DSL, and a 2Wire router. I know it's working fine, because another of my roommates can connect to the internet with his laptop and everything is all good.

    My Linksys (I know) wireless card on my desktop will detect the signal, and I can connect to the router, but it always says "but the Internet cannot be found." I know the internet connection is being broadcast because the laptop works, but I can't figure out what's up with mine.

    I had no problem connecting at my last roommate's place (cable wireless network) and I had no problem connecting at my parents' house (DSL wireless network), but for some reason it doesn't seem to like here very much.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    you're being authenticated but not authorized.......either you have security on your client/card or he has security on the router.

    btw, "linksys (I know)"..........what's that mean?
     
  3. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    The "I know" was from another forum because everyone says Linksys stuff sucks, so I was like "I have a Linksys router (I know, it sucks...), and blah blah blah..."

    So if I were calling tech support would I call 2Wire (router) or Linksys (wireless card)?

    We went thought all the security settings for his router but there were no passwords set or anything.
     
  4. 7960

    7960 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    60,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New England
    when you apply some security measures (WEP, for one) many routers blank out the field afterwards so you may not see anything in the field.

    ask him if he's willing to reset the router to factory spec and blank out all the settings on your client/card and see if that works (IMO it will, and your roomie's will stop working).
     
  5. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll try that. Thanks.
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    also if its just your laptop that isnt getting on the net, check that you dont have a static IP set, proxy set etc.

    (unless I misread the question)
     
  7. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^ Roommate's laptop connects just fine.

    My desktop with Linksys wireless card does not.
     
  8. EvilSS

    EvilSS New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    5,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    STL
    just FYI

    2wire routers default to WEP on. The default key is on a sticker on the router.

    ...and no, you can not see the key in the GUI once it's set.
     
  9. gubment cheese

    gubment cheese New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Bend
    truth^^^^^^

    get the key from the sticker on the router and you should be all good.
     
  10. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think we've already tried that (that's how his roommate said he got his laptop to connect), but I will double check this thread again next time I try to fix it.

    Thanks for the help. I'll bump this thread if it doesn't work.
     
  11. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I entered the key on the sticker on the bottom of the router into the WEP Key 1 field on the wireless card program, and it still won't connect.

    Wait, after a few moments it DID connect. omg thank you! I've missed using my own computer for so long!!!!!!
     
  12. DaveyD

    DaveyD Fuck Ohio State, son

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    18,781
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Minnesota
    I suggest you visit other forums. Linksys > *
     
  13. Falconer

    Falconer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    65,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really? I dunno. My dad used Linksys on his home network and he only had a few problems so I assumed it was a good brand. Anyway, I'm happy cuz I got it to work here. :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page