wireless network question

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Giraffe, Sep 10, 2003.

  1. Giraffe

    Giraffe Are you gangsters? No, we are russians!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Between the steering wheel and the seat
    task: hook up a cable modem thats located in the basement to a wireless router and set up a wireless network in the house

    i'm generally knowlegeable in networks but this is my 1st encounter with wireless. my boss is getting comcast cable and he wants a wireless network at his house. so that the cable and the router are just hooked up in one room and he can acess the net from a couple computers at his house from a couple different rooms.

    so here comes the question:

    what routers should i look at and which ones should i stay away from? same with wireless cards...

    also how would i go about getting it done, just some basic points i have to cover

    thanks
     
  2. Duke Skywalker

    Duke Skywalker OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central California
    Get LinkSys.

    Setting it up is really simple. With cable you may have to power cycle your modem and router.

    *Edit* and spoof the MAC.
     
  3. Giraffe

    Giraffe Are you gangsters? No, we are russians!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Between the steering wheel and the seat
    bump, any more elaboration?
     
  4. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    my old d-link just crapped out and I got a netgear (under $50 after rebate from office max or one of those stores).

    I got the 814v2 (http://www.netgear.com/products/prod_details.asp?prodID=151&view=hm) and I am very impressed. It has wireless and a 4 10/100 ethernet ports. Setup was SUPER easy.

    It also has settings to keep the connection alive so I don't have to worry about power cycling like I had to with my old setup and I was able to lock it to the MAC addresses of my wireless devices for added security (yeah I know many of them do this but my old one didn't so it's a nice feature for me) and WEP was super easy to setup (I was never able to successfully get it to work on my old WAP).

    It also looks quite sexy :bigthumb:
     
  5. lcoursey

    lcoursey Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    10,214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Russellville, KY
    LinkSys Wireless G....
     
  6. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Stick with Linksys or Netgear.

    Stay away from D-Link and Signamax.
     
  7. Giraffe

    Giraffe Are you gangsters? No, we are russians!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Between the steering wheel and the seat
    thx, bought linksys router and card today
    setting up tommorow
     
  8. bandit320

    bandit320 Guest

    linksys is the way to go. I have all wireless linksys stuff. works great
    any questions just post em
     
  9. Giraffe

    Giraffe Are you gangsters? No, we are russians!

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    5,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Between the steering wheel and the seat
    :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page