Wireless network question.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dfunk, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys, how do I setup my wireless network so that nobody but authorized users can use it? I have to machines that need acces, but someone who lives somewhere around me is constanly feeding off of my line. How do I set this up? Thanks.
     
  2. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    you have to set up a password within your router settings
     
  3. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Linksys Wireless-G
    I changed the main admin password, but how do i make authorization for specific users?
     
  4. Lat

    Lat New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    141,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Soldier Field
    look for the WEP password settings
     
  5. dfunk

    dfunk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got it. Thanks.
     
  6. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    I would recommend WPA Pre Shared Keys, it's more secure, and it's easier to type an 8 character word like "anthony1" than a 40 byte hex code like AB346348CBEF8478DACFE8473BACSDE32233234234....etc
     
  7. trevor

    trevor There's always a brand new day

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    0
    :werd:


     
  8. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i use WPA and i also use MAC address filtering...
    if your router doesn't support WPA use WEP at least
     
  9. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    NO! Don't use WEP - It's easily crackable... Use WPA, nothing less
     
  10. ez4me2c3d

    ez4me2c3d Cold Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,836
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Mac address filtering is not as great as you think, but it's better than nothing.
    Plus if you keep adding layers of security, you will be fine.

    several small layers (WEP, MAC filter, No DHCP) > one big one (ie WPA only)
     
  11. skelm

    skelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    Not really true. WPA has not yet been broken but all of the others can be subverted very easily... WPA should be your first stop.
     

Share This Page