Wireless network problem when checking email.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by RobertY3K, Aug 8, 2005.

  1. RobertY3K

    RobertY3K Pentacampeão

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    i set up a wireless network at home, and its working perfectly except when i try to access my email account, whenever i try to log on to hotmail.com, it stops loading a soon as it clears the browser to bring up the home screen, and a messege pops up that says "the document contains no data"

    what could cause this? i get the same error when using IE and Firefox.
    help :wtc:
     
  2. RobertY3K

    RobertY3K Pentacampeão

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,921
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    anyone got ANY idea?
     
  3. Ranger-AO

    Ranger-AO I'm here for the Taliban party. Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    34,660
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    the places in between
    Can you plug directly in to the ethernet connection (bypass the wireless network)? I can't imagine anything specific to the wireless network that would cause this. Bypass the wireless and see if the problem remains. :dunno:

    Flush out temporary/cache files, clear history, etc.
     
  4. huntz0r

    huntz0r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Yeah.. long as you are connected somehow to the internet, the method of connection shouldn't matter at all. Apart from speed of course.

    Weird sounding problem. I would think it has to be something else. Do you have any sort of firewall, software or hardware, that could be tripping you up?
     
  5. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    You could also try checking security settings and resetting everything back to default. But it's weird you get the same error with both IE and firefox. Clear your cache as well. Do other computers in your household have the same issue?
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Ditto on the above.

    Let us know if you have the same issue when plugged in. It shouldn't be any different from wireless.
     

Share This Page