wireless network compromised is getting really annoying

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, May 31, 2009.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    so, i posted this about a month or two ago. since then, i have replaced my router with a linksys wgt54g with dd-wrt. i changed to wpa2. i removed all my saved networks and put them back in. i still occasionally get this stupid message. it usually happens when i'm streaming a video off of my server or browing pics on the server. what to do now?
    everything i search about this, seems like no one knows how to properly fix it or why it shows up

    [​IMG]
     
  2. tomohr

    tomohr look again! OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2,397
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Not Chicago, IL
    have you tried just calling apple about it? They save all of the important files in once place, i.e. I was having problems with imovie and they told me to just go here, delete this, and it will start over, but it will be like it never happened. Maybe you can do that with your router settings and the problem will just go away.

    long store short, just dial 1-800-MYAPPLE and they will help :big grin:
     
  3. Unknown User

    Unknown User New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    10,616
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In Your Mind
    Try using AES instead of TKIP on the wireless security on the wifi router.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    switched to AES, didn't help. i was transferring some stuff from my macbook to my server. i had my macbook plugged in with ethernet, gigabit making the file transfer much faster. i sent some files to the server, a couple of minutes later i see the same message - even though i'm not using wifi to transfer the files, all activity was going via ethernet
    wifi was still on and connected, but somehow whenever i connect up to my server, the samba connection messes things up and my macbook airport freaks out
     
  5. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    you think it's a problem with the dd-wrt?
     
  6. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i had a netgear router with stock firmware before the linksys dd-wrt router and it did the same thing
     

Share This Page