A&P wired and wireless shutter cable for the 40D

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by TomDlgns, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
  2. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have one made by them, it looks similar. i bought mine from ebay shipped from hong kong. mine works, kind of. every time i take a photo with mine, it takes a double shot. i emailed the seller and they said it was a known issue with the first production run and i could send it back for another one, but by the time i paid to ship it back, i could just about buy another one. :o
     
  3. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    yeah, i saw some on ebay that looked like the phottix brand, but i decided to spend a little more money and buy from the link i posted above.

    if i had the same issues you did, it would annoy me.
     
  4. tetsuo

    tetsuo And shepherds we shall be...

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i saw the guys on potn that were re-selling them and if i had to do it over again (which i probably will if i start using this more than the 2 or 3 times i have) i'd order from someone in the us that would be easier/cheaper to send it back to. then again, i think i can get a second one shipped from hong kong cheaper than ordering from that guy. :o
     
  5. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought the same one from that guy. It does exactly what its suppose to do with no issues and its about 1/3 of the price from canon.
     
  6. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    canon makes a similar unit?
     
  7. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
  9. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    and you need 4 AAs to power it up...forget that.
     
  10. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    I think im going to jump IN on this.


    I've been wanting to get a setup similar for a while.
     
  11. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310

    you talking about the link i posted?

    or the amazon link?
     
  12. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    your post


    Im too poor for the 300 dollar one . lol
     
  13. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    lol

    it probably does more than the one i got...but oh well, no big deal to me...i just want to be able to take a pic with a remote to reduce camera shake...i don't need all the bells and whistles that the $381.00 comes with...
     
  14. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida

    Same here, I rarely use a tripod, mostly cityscapes, some macro items, and usually when I do family portraits, or of myself, friends and so on, i like to setup the tripod and I've been using the 2 second timer to be sure I dont shake it, lol.

    on IS lenses, I turn IS off when on tripod too so any bumps/etc that I could make by pressing the shutter with my hand are bad bumps.

    edit: what I was getting at, is this will be awesome for that type of stuff
     
  15. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    yeah, i was using the 2 second timer, which was great, but i couldn't do bulb exposures....which wasn't a big deal really...
     
  16. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida


    bulb is rarely an issue for me, but sometimes I've been in a situation where I've wished I had it (extremely dark area, extremely bright stars, or something in the horizon or doing a certain type of lighting effect/etc.
     
  17. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    i like bulb because i don't have to keep changing the shutter speed....not that it takes long to change the shutter speed....
     
  18. FindersKeepers

    FindersKeepers New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    :rofl:

    thought I was the only lazy persoin that did this
     
  19. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    lol, guess not.
     
  20. QWIKSNK

    QWIKSNK New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    22,984
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Murder Mitten
  21. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    You guys can buy a Alienbee transmitter and receiver and it will do teh same thing reliably for under 130.

    and you can use it ala strobist...
     
  22. TomDlgns

    TomDlgns OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    60,861
    Likes Received:
    310
    link?
     
  23. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas
  24. FlashhslaF

    FlashhslaF New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4,586
    Likes Received:
    0
    this one only works with XT rebel cameras. It has 3 settings Lock, 1sec and 2 second timer.
     
  25. turbodude

    turbodude Just a photographer OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    10,118
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Las Vegas

Share This Page