WinXP PRO 64mb

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Oleg, May 25, 2004.

  1. Oleg

    Oleg 27-peat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    161st Street and River
    Anyone run XPpro with 64megs of ram?

    Any observation and problems
     
  2. Ximian

    Ximian New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    1,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DCA
    Stick a 20 inch dildo up your ass and you'll have a similar experience.

    Actually, I really wouldn't know, I never ran WinXP with 64MB of RAM.





































    [​IMG]

    I just kid, it won't work well, at all. Just booted in, with the "classic" theme takes at least 100MB of memory. It would be murder and I think that WinXP will actually refuse to install if there is under 128MB of RAM installed.
     
  3. Mark

    Mark Diesel Junkie

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    yea, get a new PC
     
  4. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,088
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204
    I've seen it done, it's not pretty but it worked. The guy had to turn off all the eye candy and such. You'd be better off with windows 98 or buy a new system.
     
  5. R-Type

    R-Type The Bydo Empire must die!

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,049
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    to find out, try adding /MAXMEM=64 in the boot.ini on your current machine.

    It won't be pretty unless you cut back on the running services pretty hard.
     
  6. Oleg

    Oleg 27-peat OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    161st Street and River
    well first of not my machine ...a friends who was running ME i think ill just add some ram if i can find some second hand pc100 sdram
     
  7. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    i run xp on a pentium 166 /w 96 mb or ram, and an old ass big foot drive (5.25"). And it runs fine for most parts to burn cd's, browse internet, etc.
     
  8. Aimless

    Aimless Resident drunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Good luck.
     
  9. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ran XP w/ 128mb ram and it was awful. Can't imagine 64
     
  10. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I run it on a PIII 500 with 128, and it's not unbearably slow, but I'm sure glad I don't have to use it :mamoru:
     
  11. MovieMan84

    MovieMan84 Here we go

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redmond
    I run it on a PIII 500 with 448 megs of RAM and it's tolerable. I also run it on an Athlon XP 1500 running at 1800 speeds with 256 megs of RAM and it's great. I'd never consider using less than 256 though. If you're sick of winME and only have 64 megs, try NT 4.0 or maybe Windows 2000, though the latter would still be a bit of a resource hog with 64 megs. Maybe win98 SE wouldn't be a bad option, but I'd avoid XP without a real amount of RAM.
     
  12. cloneman

    cloneman Guest

    Why not put down 60 bucks and add 256MB?
     
  13. unrealii

    unrealii professor of plant biology

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    So CALI
    I wouldn't recommend running it on 64. Your hard drive will be working very hard to handle the page file.
     

Share This Page