Windows XP with DX10

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dissonance, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    So while browsing a warez site I saw this:

    "Windows XP Gamer Edition DirectX 10"
    [​IMG]

    I didn't download it so I'm not sure if its really XP with DX10... anyone know if anyone has found a way to incorporate DX10 into XP yet?

    I'm not offering these links to promote piracy, just to see if anyone wants to download it and tell if it really has DX10....
    [links removed]

    Mods, if you have problem with the links, just let me know and they'll be deleted...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2008
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
  3. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    :ugh: if you want DX10 so bad just use vista
     
  4. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    It's hard to believe that it would work properly.

    Unless it's a lot simpler that MS has made it seem.
     
  5. BladedThesis

    BladedThesis New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    9,497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which I honestly would not doubt.
     
  6. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    google Falling Leaf Systems or Alky Project.

    cliffs: Falling Leaf Systems attempted to create one, but they closed shop. What they did is shared the code as open source. Others continued the work.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2008
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    if it was easier than MS made it seem, then it'd already be out. Remember the piracy industry has lots of wasted souls in it. And it has proven time and time again that people would rather put their mind to stealing than to earning a solid living and paying for things. Alleged "uncrackable" products and solutions have been cracked in a matter of days. DVD, BluRay, Adobe products, Windows Activation, etc.

    The fact that DX10 for XP hasn't been cracked yet proves how hard it really is. Now that's not to say it won't happen... But if it ever does, it's already been enough time to prove it was really hard to do.
     
  8. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    I don't care about DX10 myself, I rarely play games and when I do they are primarily old ones anyway. I was just curious if someone cracked DX10 and this really is XP with DX10.

    Did anyone download this and test it out? I don't like messing with rapidshare myself...
     
  9. Exiled

    Exiled New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    6,154
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 8800 GTS

    4 gigs of ram.. etc etc etc


    If I got vista would games run better and look better with DX10?
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only if they were written to use the new commands available in DX10. If they aren't, they'll just use the same old DX9 commands that they always have, and they'll look the same.
     
  11. Trina

    Trina New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    0
    I play LOTRO right now and lots of folks who have vista and DX10 have had to turn OFF the DX10 in the game because of crashing, black screens, serious problems etc with the game. I've got DX9, XP, and totally happy with the results with my newly built rig.
     
  12. Danno

    Danno Bronx Poodle OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    64,916
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Indiana
    I thought I read somewhere that you'll take a performance hit in gaming with Vista.:dunno:
     
  13. bowrofl

    bowrofl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    6,555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canadia
    I have the GTS 512 and only 2 gigs of RAM and constantly play DX10 games (Assasin's Creed, BioShock, Crysis). Crysis obviously is a bitch to run but doesn't slow down THAT much in DX10 compared to 9 for me. BioShock and Assasin's Creed look beautiful and play flawlessly in DX10. I don't think you'd have a problem. Technically, it should look better but I'm not sure if it runs better.

    The thing about gaming in Vista is that it seems to be hit-or-miss. Some people have problems, and some (such as myself) don't.
     
  14. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota

    [​IMG]

    :mamoru:
     
  15. dissonance

    dissonance reset OT Supporter

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    5,652
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KS
    Was that from the files I referred to or did you find something else?
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    again proving my point that it was hard to do because it took so long. Vista has been out a year and a half.
     
  17. End

    End You've got that shotgun shine

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    9,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    fake
     
  18. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    something else,... it's a beta version based on the one made by Falling Leaf Systems.

    the one you found is a slimline version of XP that includes a DX10 hack (don't know which one they used). they created it using nlite.
    in other words, it's a new install of XP, not files that you just add to an existing XP system.
     
  19. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    these have been out like early 07.
    but yeah, to date, none exist that will work on ALL games, only some.
     
  20. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    what proof would you like?
    penny pics?

    I could reinstall Crysis or Bioshock, take screen shots, etc, etc,... but that's too much work just to prove it to you. fuck that.
     
  21. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wirelessly posted via wap.offtopic.com (Mozilla/2.0 (compatible; MSIE 3.02; Windows CE; PPC; 240x320) BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/105)

    Wow, sounds just like dx10 in vista then. :p
     
  22. MSTRBKR

    MSTRBKR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    7,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cydonia
    That's the DX version of the card.
     
  23. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    :ugh:

    no, it's not.

    Software info:
    [​IMG]

    Everest:
    [​IMG]
     
  24. End

    End You've got that shotgun shine

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    9,142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    prove it by PMing me how you did it
     
  25. Kelex

    Kelex New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Holy shit!!! If that is true, my 6800GT is DX10!!!! :bowdown:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page