Windows XP to Windows NT 4.0

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 01Z71, Feb 29, 2008.

  1. 01Z71

    01Z71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do I need to do to remove XP so that I can load NT? I have tried running the NT CD but my computer just reboots and will not load it. I tried following Microsoft's instructions from their web site but no luck. Thanks!
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    why the fuck would you want NT????

    use a linux live CD or dos floppy/cd to fdisk and clear all partitions. then reboot to NT setup.
     
  3. 01Z71

    01Z71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason is that we have a critical MS-DOS application (they still exist) that does not like Server 2003 or XP, but it loves NT. I'll give your suggestion a try.
     
  4. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    can you attempt to run it in compatibility mode?

    also, think about running virtual pc
     
  5. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    3.51 or 4?

    I'd second the virtual route suggestion myself
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I know they still exist... Blockbuster still uses one, for example... But they're generally huge pieces of shit that should be migrated to modern windows-based guis, or something that can be run via telnet/ssh/3270/etc.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Also consider windows 2000.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    1. Install Virtual Server 2005.
    2. Create a virtual machine.
    3. Install Windows NT on it.

    Don't waste a whole damn computer just to run a single application.
     
  9. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    Fixed that for you
     
  10. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Virtual Server 2005 is free. VMWare Server is not.

    Don't waste money to run a single application either, smartass.
     
  11. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    Uh smartass, VMware server edition IS FREE. smartass...

    http://www.vmware.com/products/server/
     
  12. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Huh. When did that happen? Does this let you create VMs, or just run existing VMs?

    EDIT: Oh for fuck's sake, you have to register to get marketing BS in your email before you can download it? Fuck that, go with Virtual Server like I originally recommended.
     
  13. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    You don't get spam from it. The reason you use it is it works considerably better than MS Virtual Server. Couple of quick items that make a huge difference is network teaming in VMWare works massively better, another item would be the support for assigning multiple processors to a VM not just one. The console is also considerably improved, if you haven't used both you aren't qualified to determine which is better.

    I suggest you download VMWare server and try it out, guess what you won't even have to rebuild your machines it will open your MS virtual machines... You can also create ones yes.

    BTW it went free about 2 years ago, sheesh, gotta stay up to date man...
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two years ago I was still slaving away to squeeze performance out of ten-year-old HP NetServers. Only in the past six months have I had the opportunity to use VMs for anything useful. Thus is the shining life of the small business techie.

    So what do they make their money from, if they're giving away products that are 100% usable by themselves?
     
  15. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,365
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    San Diego
    Only the server edition is free, ESX server isn't free, ace isn't free, workstation isn't free etc... However the server product is perfect for what he wants to do here, and is a much more solid product than the MS one. Another major different between them is in VMWare you can run 64bit guest OS's, so for instance a Exchange 2007 on Server 2003/2008 64 bit, which you cannot do under MS Virtual Server at least the last time I loaded 2005 Svr 3 months ago.
     
  16. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Keep in mind that VMWare Server Edition requires Windows Server OS or an enterprise flavor of Linux and will not run on XP.
     
  17. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,487
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ca
    The web management interface doesn't work on XP, but thats only needed if you want to manage VMs over the web.

    Otherwise VMWare server runs fine on my XP box.
     
  18. 01Z71

    01Z71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update: Thank you dorkultra!! I tried the compatibility mode and it is running great. Thanks so much!!!!!
     
  19. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, I remember it originally wasn't going to be free.
     
  20. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    See that?

    All this geekdom going on in here, and all it took was compatibility mode.

    :mamoru:
     
  21. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,753
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    yes! i rule. :bowdown:
     
  22. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    +10 rep.


    :mamoru:
     
  23. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    BS! I've been running VMWare Server on Vista for MONTHS now with no problems whatsoever. And before that, I was running it on XP with equally no problems whatsoever.
     
  24. 01Z71

    01Z71 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, dorkultra you rule!!!!!!
     
  25. Sexual Vanilla

    Sexual Vanilla New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    6,305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    http://www.vmware.com/pdf/server_admin_manual.pdf

    You are running VMWare Workstation, not Server.
     

Share This Page