Windows XP Service Pack 2 install...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by mb330ci, May 16, 2007.

  1. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    I'm originally using Windows XP Pro SP1 and updating files via Windows update to reach SP2.

    Each time I've downloaded SP2 and installed it, the initial restart takes me directly to safe mode after it's installed.

    Is there a reason why this happens?
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe you have old drivers that aren't compatible with SP2. Try just running Windows Update again in Safe Mode. If you can't, reboot and hit the F8 key a bunch of times until the Startup Options menu appears, and select Safe Mode with Networking.
     
  4. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wouldn't per chance have a non-legit copy of windows?
     
  5. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
  6. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    "Negative Houston"; I purchased this OS. Plus, the windows genuine advantage and the numerous confirmation downloads would prevent me from even downloading updates.
     
  7. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    I will try this if the networking version of SP2 fails this weekend.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you already have ANY version of SP2 installed, I'd try to download updates first, because it's easier than un-installing and re-installing SP2.
     
  9. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    That's the issue...once I've downloaded SP2, the intial restart goes into safe mode. I don't have the option of even running SP2 after the install. :dunno:
     
  10. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    Update...dl'd SP2 w/the network and it did the same thing. The initial reboot after loading goes to safe mode. I also updated all the files up to SP2 prior to installing. Windows update doesn't have any other update but SP2.

    I also tried to go into Safe Mode with Network option. I was not able to access the network due to 'cofiguration issue' that XP indicated. :wtc: I have been able to connect to the web prior to SP2(& SP2 Network) install

    Any other suggestions? Could it be a conflict issue with another pgm? I have my system in SLI configuration. Would it help if I list my set up? :dunno:
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2007
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like your network driver is ancient, or something. Investigate that first.
     
  12. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    will do. I think I'll look for updated drivers for my damn dsl....

    FYI, I currently am not on a network.
     
  13. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're using dialup, or if you're using a high-speed modem (i.e. cable or dsl) that is plugged DIRECTLY into your computer using some kind of cable OTHER THAN ethernet, then you're not on a network. Otherwise, you are on a network, even if it's just a tiny network between the ethernet jack on your computer and the modem on your desk.
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    ^^ incorrect. Most DSL/Cable/Satelite modems not utilizing RJ-45 are typically using USB and act as USB>Ethernet bridge -- effectively mimicking a network interface card.
     
  15. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    Weird...I ran Windows Update several times yesterday. Today, I now have more updates and an update for SP1 even though SP2 was the only one that was 'found' yesterday.

    I think I'll wait a few days just in case more updates appear prior to me installing SP2 again.

    Does it make a difference if the sequence of updates are not in order prior to installing SP2? Can that be a source of my problem?
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    no. sp2 is cumulative. It includes all updates released prior to it.
     
  17. mb330ci

    mb330ci OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ur Mommas House!
    I noticed that after each dl'd upgrade. The overall SP2 file 'shrunk'. I just ordered an SP2 disc from MS. Make my life much easier than downloading each file.
     

Share This Page