Windows xp license

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Robb, Jan 1, 2005.

  1. Robb

    Robb Guest

    I just built a comp. i used the xp cd that came w/ my old emachines comp to reinstall windows, now it says i have to register, fine. So i go to register, put the serial number from my emachines comp in and it says it isnt valid. It gives me the option to call the customer service number, it also gives me a csr id number, the csr system is all automated and i tell them the number and it says the id isnt valid, what the hell do i do now, thanks
     
  2. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    If it were me, and I knew I owned a legit copy, I'd find "other ways" to deal with it. However, I know many people who have simply called Microsoft and explained their problem and were given a replacement key. That really may be your best bet.
     
  3. Robb

    Robb Guest

    yeah, i had to look up a new support number on thier website, the nice iranian gave me a new key that worked, yay
     
  4. Juvenall

    Juvenall What Would Juvie Do?

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    #!/usr/bin/Detroit
    w00t! Glad that worked out for ya :)
     
  5. russd10089

    russd10089 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    nevermind, you already did what i was gonna suggest.
     
  6. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Just so you know, you cannot legally transfer an OEM copy of Windows from one machine to the other -- even if you erase it from the original machine. That's in the conditions of the OEM license.
     
  7. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    We're you trying to register or Activate? These are 2 different things.
     
  8. Robb

    Robb Guest

    register, i had xp on one hdd, built a new computer, used the same hdd, i lost xp after booting up, so i put the xp copy from my old comp on there, after installing it wanted me to register, so i used the serial from the back of my old comp, it didnt take that number
     

Share This Page