Windows XP freezes on 1st boot.. WTF

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dankh, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    Shit makes me want to curb stomp kittens yo.

    Installing XP has been all kinds of fucked.

    • Installs fine.
    • On first boot up (where you would add a new administrator account) it freezes.
    • It will continue to freeze on every reboot.
    • I can boot into safe-mode without a problem.
    • Booting into safe-mode WITH networking causes a freeze after /Drivers/Mup.sys
    • I've googled the shit out of that, with no relevent solutions.
    • I've disabled the onboard NIC via BIOS, still freezes.
    • I've installed it on another drive with the same results (maybe it was the same bad sector, but was not)
    • I've disabled virtually everything in the BIOS.
    I've gone through a bunch of CD's burning integrated SP2, SP3, and no SP and with other various configurations.

    What. The. Fuck.
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
  3. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Is this a new build? Did you add components to it recently?
     
  4. jvblackxj

    jvblackxj VW4Life

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it was the memory, I am pretty sure you wouldn't get past POST. however, Are there any Addon (PCI, AGP, PCI Express, PCI-X) cards in the machine?
     
  5. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    Hit F8 on bootup and select Enable boot logging... After it hangs, restart, go to safe mode and view ntbootlog.txt in the system root directory.

    The last line should show what driver it hung on. I have a feeling it will be mup.sys again, but you might as well try it to be sure.

    You can read through this too. http://www.aitechsolutions.net/mupdotsysXPhang.html
     
  6. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Incorrect.
     
  7. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    Nah, not a new build. Previous user got owned by a buffet of trojans and viruses. Other than clean it I just opted to reinstall. Does the same thing everytime.. reboots after the second phase of setup and hangs. I've never had this kind of problem before and I literally sit here staring at it thinking - "I don't know what the fuck to do next.."

    I've done it on different hard drives with different XP CD's with different SP's integrated with all the Dell drivers integrated and with ONLY the AHCI drivers. Usually doing things in steps resolves the problem but this bastard machine just doesn't want to work with me.
     
  8. critter783

    critter783 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've had this problem in the past when casting an image built for a specific Dell model onto a different model. I booted to safe mode, deleted the video device, and rebooted normally, and let the PnP system re-detect the video card. I had the correct video card driver on hand and installed it and the computer worked fine after that.
     
  9. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    Update:

    -Flashed A02 to A07, still hangs on the XP loading logo.
    -Removed USB devices during boot like suggested, still hangs.
    -Unplugged CDROM and 2nd HDD in case it was power, still hangs.
    -Ran Memtest with 100% pass.

    Does it make any sense for it to boot into safe mode without a problem, but safe mode with networking causes the same hang? That's where I've been focusing most of my diagnostics - around networking components.
     
  10. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    What happens if you disable the network devices in safe mode and reboot?
     
  11. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    So get this - it was freezing because the CD ROM was still in the drive.
    Removing the burned CD allowed it to boot no problem.

    Let this be a lesson in fucking retarded conflicts and shitty hardware vendors.
     
  12. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    God damn.. so fucking bullshit. I went through so many migraine pills and blank CD's trying to get this fucking thing to work. I'm relieved to have it all clean and smooth but fuck man.. what the fuck fucking CD bullshit..
     
  13. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    I hate to say it but removing the cd is sort of "building computers 101".

    And i'm not a Dell hater, but at the same time this doesn't surprise me.
     
  14. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    Maybe 10 years ago when systems weren't designed to move on to the next bootable device when, say, a floppy wasn't bootable. But to have Window's XP lock-up while loading because a disc is in the drive? That's a bit off from 101.
     
  15. Hate Crime

    Hate Crime Don't Hate OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Not really.. your computer is just hardcore old or has a shitty BIOS
     
  16. dankh

    dankh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West 10's
    It *IS* a Dell and a low end Dimension at that. I've had weird issues with Dell's but still.. I'm really convinced it's the firmware on the CDRW given all the issues I listed above. Why having a CDR in the drive during load of Safe Mode + Networking would lock it up... I just can't figure that shit out.
     

Share This Page