windows xp boot question...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by MaDsK1LLz, Jun 8, 2005.

  1. MaDsK1LLz

    MaDsK1LLz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    i formatted my friend's computer with windows xp home. i did the same thing i usually do, but whenever i power up the computer, it makes me choose which OS to load..but theyre both the same choice of "windows xp home edition." does anyone know how i can get rid of this so that it will just load windows without me choosing?? thanks :x:
     
  2. dimins

    dimins I'll bring the beers ... OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    those are entries in the boot.ini file in the C:\ drive. Be very careful editing it though as your machine won't boot if you fuxor it up. Here is my winxp pro boot.ini for reference.
     
  3. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    If you go into "System Properties" (right-click on "My Computer") and then click on the Advanced tab and select Settings under Startup and Recovery, there is a check box under System startup that says "Time to display list of operating systems:" Uncheck that box and you will no longer see the choice of operating systems during bootup.
     
  4. BoypussY

    BoypussY game over.

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    51,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN YOUR HEAD

    :werd: . this is the MUCH safer way to get rid of that menu.
     
  5. Kuwi

    Kuwi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    4,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    U.S.A
    You fucked up when you reinstalled windows xp, you didn't delete the other partion. If I were you reinstall windows and delete the other partion.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I'm not sure about that. I've formatted more than a few machines and still see that boot menu sometimes... Like said above, I go into the system properties menu and uncheck the box so it doesn't display the list.
     
  7. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    A format doesn't remove a partition.
    FDISK, learn it, use it, love it...be it???
     
  8. MaDsK1LLz

    MaDsK1LLz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    youre the man :bowdown:
     
  9. Ivy Mike

    Ivy Mike New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    119,226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    You might want to make sure you don't have old OS files floating around on another partition. Not that it will hurt anything, but its just wasting space.
     
  10. sboldman

    sboldman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not a problem of not formatting correctly.

    When formatting the system, the boot.ini file is placed into memory to save the paths to any non-system partitions. The new operating system is added to the existing boot.ini list after installation.
     
  11. BoypussY

    BoypussY game over.

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    51,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IN YOUR HEAD

    pOrtion or partition, pick one.
     
  12. MaDsK1LLz

    MaDsK1LLz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    the computer was a compaq and it had 2 partitions..one was like 7gb..im guessing this was for system restore. i deleted both partitions and made just one big one. then i just went through the same old windows installation procedure after formatting, but for some reason it kept asking me to pick an os...either way i unchecked the box and it worked.
     

Share This Page