Windows xp activation

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Rofl my waffle, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. My old computer eventually just died and i recently built a new one. I tried to install Xp home Sp1 with the disk that came with my old computer. After the install it said that i had 30 days to activate it and it wouldn't let me activate online.

    Can someone inform me of the best way to get around this? I am not trying to steal anything, I actually own the product. I have searched around and found that there are lots of ways to do this, but i wanted some opinions on what the best way is.

    Thanks
     
  2. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    What you own is an OEM copy. An OEM copy is only good for the machine you originally purchased it for. So for all intensive purposes, you can't legally do what you want to do.
     
  3. Coottie

    Coottie BOOMER......SOONER OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    32,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    OKC
    If you have a legal copy you can simply call MS and get the activation code. You obviously have to assure them that you've uninstalled the other copy.
     
  4. MSA

    MSA You're gonna be the one that saves me, And after a

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    just say you got a virus and had to reformat
     
  5. DAN513

    DAN513 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10,089
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    204

    Hardware ID will be different and he'll have to explain why, sometimes they aren't easy to convince.
     
  6. karma

    karma you reap what you sow

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    where indeed
    I bought an OEM copy of XP SP2 to run on my Mac mini, but now I'm selling it and want to install it on my Macbook Pro. I think I'll be on the phone too... :hs:
     
  7. Stilgar1973

    Stilgar1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do the phone activation. They won't byte. They have no incentive to say no to you.
    Just be sure to tell them that you have this copy of windows on only one computer. Don't worry about admitting that you have activated before.
     
  8. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,424
    Likes Received:
    275
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Just say your motherboard took a dump and needed to replaced if anyone asks.
     
  9. A Cow

    A Cow OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    33,025
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    call them.. no questions asked

    "hello this is <personals name" what is your activation key.."

    after you tell htem ther elike

    "enter this number"

    no quetions asked :p
     
  10. Thanks for the tips guys
     

Share This Page