Windows won't load..help!

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by darksinister, Apr 1, 2007.

  1. darksinister

    darksinister Soul Society

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh OC
    I recently did a complete reformat to my harddrive; after it finshes, it'll load up to the windows xp screen and freeze. Does anyone have an idea of what could be wrong? :hs:
     
  2. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
  3. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you haven't gotten it to boot to Windows yet on the new install, correct?
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fatal driver problem, I'm guessing. What kind of motherboard do you have?
     
  5. darksinister

    darksinister Soul Society

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh OC

    Yeah, it doesnt boot on the new install. It goes to the window xp loading screen and freeze.
     
  6. darksinister

    darksinister Soul Society

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh OC

    It worked fine before the reformatting. I'm using a Intel p4 (D865PERL)
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    infamous for problems before getting the drivers loaded. boot to safe / vga mode and install the chipset drivers.
     
  8. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course it worked right before you reformatted, the drivers were still installed before you reformatted. Do what Jolly said.
     
  9. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you can't boot into safe mode, you could try doing a repair.

    I've had that happen on builds, and doing another reinstall fixed the problem.
    So it's not always about drivers.
     
  10. darksinister

    darksinister Soul Society

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh OC
    Well, windows hasnt been installed yet. It just gets to that window xp screen after the reformat where the bar moves for a bit and then freeze. So I can't boot into safe mode or do a repair. :wtc:
     
  11. gnp

    gnp New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    so you have reformatted your hard drive, and haven't installed windows....and you are suprised that it isn't booting


    yeah, it may be time for the old piss on the hard drive trick.
     
  12. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you're stuck in the middle of the install process then?

    You might have to wipe the hard drive. If you know what drive you have,
    go to the manufacturers site and get the drive utility. If you still have a floppy drive, you can load the utility onto a floppy and use it to wipe the drive clean.
     
  13. Slid.

    Slid. I'm a guy.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NH
    My guess is that either your XP CD, cd-drive or your hard drive is bad -- I'd check them in that order.
     
  14. Doc Brown

    Doc Brown Don't make me make you my hobby

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    16,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Come to think of it, I've also seen an install freeze when a slipstreamed disc was being used that apparently had errors on it.
     
  15. darksinister

    darksinister Soul Society

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Teh OC
    Sorry, im a noob with this. :hs: My friend and I have tried his xp disc and mine, different harddrive, and cd drive. We stripped it to the bare minimum and it still has the same problem. But yes, it hasn't installed yet. It freezes at the xp screen right after the reformat. So should i try that floppy thing? My friend is coming back on Tuesday to help me.
     
  16. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    pirated copy?
     
  17. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're not installing onto a USB or Firewire hard drive, and you're not using a USB or Firewire CD drive, are you?
     

Share This Page