windows vista business to ultimate

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NCS, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    i got a laptop with vista business and want to upgrade to ultimate. is there an upgrade out there or do i have to reinstall from scratch?
     
  2. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    reinstall
     
  3. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    why do you want to do this? :o
     
  4. Neuman

    Neuman New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    dot
     
  5. Bitter Moose

    Bitter Moose OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Fixed lol. Anyway, you'd have need to reinstall it. It's not terribly difficult. What are you trying to accomplish though? The only benefit I can think of is Media Center if you're just dying to have it.
     
  6. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    i read the benefits and theres the media stuff (is it worth it?) and the file encryption stuff (again, is it worth it?)

    (and i will have XP dual boot anyway)

    work (development) on XP and play/trying out new things on Vista.
     
  7. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't have to re-install. Look in your control panel for something called "anytime upgrade" I think. You can upgrade from any low version of Vista to any higher version at any time using this.
     
  8. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Because Ultimate is a better version. :dunno:
     
  9. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    i'm pretty sure you can't do the anytime upgrade from business to ultimate
     
  10. thebox

    thebox New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    45,695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle
    because bitlocker and dreamscene are so fucking awesome :mamoru:
     
  11. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vista Business is roughly equivalent to XP Pro and XP Tablet PC Edition rolled together. Vista Ultimate has Media Center Edition thrown in for the hell of it. It's not really worth much.

    Think about it; if it were really worth having, Vista Business would have it. Vista Ultimate is just for people who want everything regardless of usefulness.
     
  12. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why not? That doesn't make any sense, Ultimate is the only option above Business. When I had Vista business the option was there for me.
     
  13. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't watch DVDs on the business version. I had to switch just for that reason. Microsoft was offering a DVD decoder for business edition but you had to pay for it and it wasn't even out yet. I searched everywhere and on forums and there was nothing. This was like at the beginning of the year or something though.
     
  14. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    you cant watch dvd's on business. wtf?
     
  15. Yuppy

    Yuppy Have a seat right there....

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    12,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    THE Hawkeye Nation
    you can just click on fix my version or something.

    i dont remember but i already did this once.
     
  16. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or you can buy any DVD burner ever made and it will come with the InterVideo WinDVD decoder or something comparable.
     
  17. MrBrotato

    MrBrotato New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    5,558
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said, this was like a year ago and nothing was out or compatible yet, there was a lot of complaining about it. You can't just play DVDs on the business version out of the box though.
     
  18. Bruticus

    Bruticus half dead OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,608
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Not worth it. Media stuff is meh and I'd rather use open source encryption than anything from Microsoft.
     

Share This Page