Windows Software RAID question.

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by deusexaethera, May 19, 2006.

  1. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    My workstation at work is one of the few computers in the office without a $900 PercRAID card in it. In fact, it's running on ATA-66. So, as an experiment, I "persuaded" Windows XP to let me use its secret software RAID capabilities and I mirrored my hard drive. Obviously it's safer now, but I can't tell if there's been any increase in the data transfer speed. Does anybody know if the Windows software RAID will actually read from both drives in a mirrored setup in order to increase the effective data transfer rate?
     
  2. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know, but I'm curious as well. I used to use this at my old job when the only servers I could get included no SCSI, and no RAID. Never had a failure, and never noticed any speed bump.
     
  3. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's funny, I have one machine with a software RAID 0 that reports failures almost every day, but Windows lets me reactivate the suspect drive, and there's never been any data corruption on it.

    Suffice it to say software RAID (at least on Windows) is lame at best.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh, but does it ever eat up CPU power. Man, my dual P3 workstation (still waiting for a nice Dell Precision) boots up slower now than it did before. A newer computer would probably do better, though.
     
  5. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use Linux software RAID 1 on our subversion/web devel box, which is really just a 2ghz celeron with 512 megs of ram. Makes me feel better, in case one drive fails completely.
     

Share This Page