Windows Repair=Taking Hours?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Dave_Ellis, Nov 19, 2006.

  1. Dave_Ellis

    Dave_Ellis Very Impotent Person

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    In an effort to not reformat my home computer (I come back from school for the week and its like a spyware machine) I tried to repair windows since I kept getting explorer failures and whatnot, it started the repair process and now its gone through the stages of
    Collecting Info.
    Dynamic Update
    Preparing Installation
    Installing Windows
    Now its just sitting on Installing Devices, the progress bar isn't moving, but the little green boxes at the bottom are still going, and the whole windows xp blabber that scrolls is moving. It has been up on "Setup Complete in 34 minutes" for a good hour, then when I came back after 2 hours it moved to 33 minutes.

    I don't want to just pull the plug and risk losing all the stuff I neglected to back up, but at the same time it still appears to be moving at the pace of a functionally retarded snail.

    Anyone know what/why this would happen and if what to do?

    I figure I'll let it run through the night to be safe, and if not we'll see.
     
  2. RubiconSahara

    RubiconSahara OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    7,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    Windows repair won't get rid of the spyware. It will still be present on the system. The slowed repair could be that the system files are spread all over the drive if it is severely fragmented. I'd buy another hard drive and set it up, then ghost the original hard drive to an archive file on the new HD and then only pull the files out of the archive that you saved. No program files. Once you have everything, delete the archive.
     
  3. Dave_Ellis

    Dave_Ellis Very Impotent Person

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    I already have a slave drive in which I've got music and porn loaded on (Worst case is I format that and massah it). I did remove the spyware to the best of my knowledge, but was plagued with errors so I decided to repair windows. How would I ghost the images to the new HD without access to windows, because its broke for sure.
     
  4. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Instead of repairing windows, reinstall it into the same folder it used to be in. It will wipe out your existing user accounts and you'll have to reinstall all of your programs, but you won't have to back up your data first.
     
  5. RubiconSahara

    RubiconSahara OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2000
    Messages:
    7,672
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmond, OK
    hirens boot cd allows you to boot on it and then ghost an image
     
  6. Dave_Ellis

    Dave_Ellis Very Impotent Person

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago Suburbs
    I ended up installing windows on the slave, it didn't format the slave so I've still got all my data, now its just a matter of backing it up and reformatting it so the drives are proper again.
     

Share This Page