windows on mac?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by alptekin, Apr 10, 2006.

  1. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    i don't know if this is true but i heard you could run windows on a mac. at my school our wireless looks for windows before it lets you log on. so there for my g4pb is worthless there. just wanted to know if this was possible because it would save me the trouble of buying a new notebook.
     
  2. Raider007

    Raider007 om nom nom nom

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    17,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    you gotta buy a new notebook...
    you can run windows on the new intel macs...
     
  3. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    gay, so they don't have any kind of windows emulator for the non intel macs?
     
  4. Inferno

    Inferno New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    20,585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    they have virtual pc, but thats much, much slower and isnt a 100% replica of windows, with boot camp you're acutally running windows, not emulating it
     
  5. Euclid

    Euclid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    8,139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    You may want to ask for some more technical details on why you can't access the network with your mac. It could be possible, but the admins are too lazy to explain how.

    Either way I'd be interested in hearing how they are forcing the network to be windows-only.
     
  6. xenon supra

    xenon supra OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    33,675
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    i'm sure theres a way to get it from your mac.

    if not - let me know, we can trade notebooks. i have a nice HP 1.75 ghz 1 gig ram dvd burner and some other goodies. IM me at 'joesupra914' if your interested.
     
  7. urban ape

    urban ape take that take that take that

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    League City, Texas

    thats what im saying, :hsugh:
     
  8. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl
    something that has to do with the settings they told me. being a secure network they is different configurations and checks it goes threw. they said one is finding windows.
     
  9. moses

    moses OMGWTFBBQ

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2000
    Messages:
    40,221
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    they don't know what the fuck they're talking about. a packet is a packet despite where its generated from.
     
  10. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    Actually, it's quite possible, albeit it can be expensive, to prevent specific Operating Systems from gaining access to a network. Security appliances from Vernier Networks and PatchLink are often used. Though to be honest I’ve never heard of anyone using one of these appliances for preventing network access of any particular OS.

    http://www.verniernetworks.com/products/
    http://www.patchlink.com/solutions/sec_access_control.html
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2006
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    yes it is possible, but I doubt they are using it. Are they are using a specific auth/vpn app (you would need to use a program to get on the netowork, probably branded nortel/cisco). My bet is its possible to get your mac on but they have no clue about macs & dont care.
     
  12. alptekin

    alptekin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    Messages:
    4,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    jax,fl

    i belive its that they dont give a shit about macs.
     

Share This Page