windows on mac experts

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NCS, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, some guru please answer.

    i want to be able to dual boot windows/mac (this is done using some boot thingy, whats it called)

    i want to be able to run windows in a window on mac OS (this is done using parallels, but does it run the same installation of windows as the one that can also be booted during the dual boot?)

    and as if that wasnt enough, i use Virtual PC (windows on windows) for work reasons. whats the best solution to run virtual PC on this mac? do i need to convert to another virtual-pc-style software so that the image can be run both on mac and on windows?

    please, no questions on why how etc... i am a windows developper who got a free mac.
     
  2. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    i'm curious as to why you'd want to do this? and how as well.
     
  3. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    boot camp?

    nope

    Parallels Desktop or VMware Fusion
     
  4. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    can you just format the drive to linux or vista and get rid of OSX entirely? that would actually tempt me to get an imac or macbook
     
  5. Limp_Brisket

    Limp_Brisket New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    48,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utah
    i don't see why you couldn't...
     
  6. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Parallels will do everything you just said, including using the same installation/filesystem as boot camp. Read its features. Buy it. Read instructions.
     
  7. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    can VMWare Fusion do this as well? i liked VMWare better, if only because they provide all sorts of free image downloads that you can try out.
     
  8. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    yes vmware can do this

    [​IMG]




    you set up bootcamp with windows, install drivers, then configure vmware and install vmware tools. Also you only have to use bootcamp if you want to boot windows natively.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
  9. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Linux partitions eh?
     
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    oh I get it now.
     
  11. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    he can't. he must re-install and re-activate Windows at Parallels
    same with VMware
     
  12. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude, if you have no idea what you're talking about, please refrain from posting and giving bad advice.

    To the OP, yes you can run Windows through VMware or Parallels from a bootcamp partition.
     
  13. Doomsday

    Doomsday XXX

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,902
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    ok, yeah, my bad :o
    just googled it and confirm it,... yes you can

    i was relying on memory and i read it somewhere that you can't
     
  14. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok so if i understood right it goes like this

    1.get mac
    2.install windows using boot camp
    3.use either VM ware fusion or parallels if i want to use the bootcamp windows in a mac session

    for the virtual pc issue, is there a piece of virtual pc software that runs on both mac and windows?
     
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2008
  15. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    The best solution for running Windows on a Mac is Parallels. The new version lets you overlay the program windows from your Windows VM onto your Mac desktop, so it looks like you're running those programs in OSX. Add an OSX skin to the Windows VM, and nobody will ever know.
     
  16. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    it has been a few months since i've used either parallels or vmware, but when i did VMWare was better. yeah, you didn't get the ability to make Windows apps look like they're running in OSX, but that was goofy anyway. i just found VMWare to be more stable and handle USB devices MUCH better.

    i used to connect my Blackberry to my XP session running in VMWare and use it as a modem to connect to the internet. Parallels was always very unreliable with that and other USB devices.
     
  17. bigboostdsm

    bigboostdsm New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    7,989
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rocky Top, TN
    I just did a bootcamp install on a buddies macbook pro yesterday. It went very well, no hangups at all.

    He needed windows to run AutoCAD Architecture and Civil 3D. Installing those two programs took longer than partitioning/installing windows :mamoru:
     
  18. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do like VMWare, don't get me wrong. But Parallels is specifically developed for OSX, by people who know how OSX works, so that's probably an advantage in the long run.
     
  19. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    how would you do it? macs don't have a bios that you can access to change boot order, do they?
     
  20. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    no, they use EFI, but they can still do all of that. you have a built in boot selection when you boot activated by a hotkey (option), if you want more flexibility you can install something like refit which is a boot menu, there is also a version of grub for efi (i think....)
     
  21. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    so boot while holding a key with an ubuntu cd in the drive and I can format to ubuntu?

    I should do this on my brother's macbook while he's at school one day :rofl:
     
  22. nsxrebel

    nsxrebel New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,272
    Likes Received:
    0
    go for it and make sure you catch it on video.
     
  23. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    nah, but I would save myself a lot of "why can't the mac do this?" and "why can't the mac do that?" headaches if I just put Vista or Ubuntu on my dad's imac.
     
  24. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    VMWare fusion and VMWare (for window) can use the same images right?

    so that means if i make a winxp image, for example, i can run it on a booted windows through VMware and i can run the same image on mac os from vmware fusion?
     

Share This Page