Windows ME restarting randomly

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Surgeon General, Sep 15, 2003.

  1. Surgeon General

    Surgeon General Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7,340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    San Jose
    My computer has been restarting every few hours for the past few days, and it's becoming very annoying.

    I remember all the XP computers doing that a few weeks ago, so I went and got all the windows updates, and it still does it. I scanned the computer with spybot see if it might be spyware messing with me or something, and it's still doing it.

    Is it a hardware problem? All of my fans are working properly, so I know it's not an overheating problem. Should I put my HD in my other computer to scan it for viruses?
     
  2. Surgeon General

    Surgeon General Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7,340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    San Jose
  3. Indy Jones

    Indy Jones SURPRISE!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2002
    Messages:
    5,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    You should uninstall ME and go with 2000 or 98.
     
  4. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Yes. Solution to your problem: Formatting and installing a real MS OS like 2K or XP... if your machine can't handle 2000, then install 98r2 while you start shopping for a new PC. ;)
     
  5. Leb_CRX

    Leb_CRX OT's resident terrorist

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Messages:
    39,994
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    yes girlfriend, lose that zero and get yourself a hero (xp, 2000)...

    haahhahaha so fruity, I just had to :)
     
  6. Surgeon General

    Surgeon General Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7,340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    San Jose
    I looked on google groups for people with the same problem, and they're all saying it's the power supply :o
     
  7. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    ROFLLLLllllll
     
  8. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,621
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    It might be a power issue. Did you recently plug in any items that draw large amounts of power?
     
  9. Surgeon General

    Surgeon General Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    7,340
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    San Jose
    No.

    And sometimes it will just crash and give me a black screen instead of rebooting
     
  10. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Make sure all your cards and RAM chips are seated properly. Could be caused by chip-creeeep.

    NOTE: Make sure you are properly grounded before pressing on PCI cards and RAM chips...or you'll be without a few items in your machine. ;)
     

Share This Page